Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Traffic School » Arizona (change state)

Arizona Defensive Driving

In Arizona, taking a state approved Defensive Driving course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Arizona Defensive Driving course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.

Arizona Defensive Driving Online Starting at $33

With over 1,000,000 satisfied students is the #1 provider of Defensive Driving courses online in Arizona. Arizona approved Defensive Driving online course.

Arizona Approved Defensive Driving Online
  • Court approved ticket dismissal
  • Pay only if you pass
  • 100% interactive online course
Traffic School in Arizona and Arizona's Traffic School Requirements

Defensive Driving in Arizona

Eventually, many of us will be the ill-fated recipients of a traffic citation, and more than 96% of men and women just pay the traffic ticket. If they decided not to just pay the citation and move on; and instead finished an Arizona defensive driving training course as an alternative, they wouldn't see the negative result of the citation on their record and vehicle insurance. Passing the course both allows you to be a more effective driver and dismiss your traffic citation.

There are two benefits of choosing a Arizona defensive driving course - dismissing your Arizona citation and learning about being a better motorist. During the course you'll learn about how to prevent potential traffic infractions, vehicle accidents, along with other ways to become a less hazardous driver. To begin the defensive driving course you'll want to get court authorization and then you can register for the web-based course.

How to Take Arizona Defensive Driving

Taking and completing an Arizona defensive driving course is pretty painless. Avoid points on your driving record by following a few simple steps to dismiss your violation with Arizona defensive driving.

  1. Using your traffic citation, find the name and contact information for the court. Call up the court to determine if defensive driving will be an choice for you.
  2. Then just enroll in a web-based Arizona defensive driving training course when you have court authorization.
  3. You will need to complete the course prior to the due date, normally at least 7 days prior. The course will take at least 4 hours to complete, but using the online option you can sign in and out as you please.
  4. After you finish the defensive driving training course, you'll receive a certificate of completion. Last but not least, you need to give the completion certificate to the courthouse to finish dismissing your ticket.

Arizona Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions

Similar to most states, Arizona using a driving point system. Under this system, each time you are pulled over and receive a ticket, points are added to your driving record. The more serious the offense, the more points you will get. As points increase on your driving record, your insurance rates become more expensive and you can be in danger of losing your license.

  • DUI (blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher): 8 points
  • Extreme DUI (BAC of 0.15% or higher): 8 points
  • Reckless driving: 8 points
  • Aggressive driving: 8 points
  • Leaving the scene of an accident: 6 points
  • Running a traffic signal or stop sign or failing to yield, thus causing death: 6 points
  • Running a traffic signal or stop sign or failing to yield, thus causing serious injury: 4 points
  • Speeding: 3 points
  • Driving over an area where one or more of the lanes diverge to go in a different direction (gore area): 3 points
  • All other driving violations: 2 points

Using defensive driving may also be a strategy to avoid the loss of your driver's license. Should you pile up a great number of points against your driver record, Arizona will suspend your license. But those points stay off your record when you finish a defensive driving course. Find out more on Arizona license suspension below.

  • Operating a vehicle under the influence of a drug: Automatic suspension
  • Committing homicide or aggravated assault with a vehicle: Automatic suspension
  • Committing a felony in which a vehicle is used: Automatic suspension
  • Lying to the MVD under oath: Automatic suspension
  • Failing to stop if you are involved in a traffic accident: Automatic suspension
  • Participating in a drive-by shooting: Automatic suspension
  • 8 points in a 12 month period: Mandatory Arizona Traffic Survival School or license suspension

Car Insurance Discounts for Completing Defensive driving

Is your car insurance too costly? Insurers provide you with discounts for finishing defensive driving. Due to the fact that insurers think they can spend less in the long run if you know more about safe driving, they offer savings after you take defensive driving. It is advisable to contact your car insurance provider to ask about the discount before signing up. Following that, register for a defensive driving study course on the Internet and once you finish submit your completion certificate to your insurer.

Recommended Defensive Driving in Arizona

Frequently Asked Questions

How does traffic school or defensive driving help with ticket dismissal?

In many states, the court will allow you to take a traffic school or defensive driving course online or in person to dismiss a ticket. First, you need to reach out to the court listed on your ticket and make sure you can use traffic school / defensive driving for ticket dismissal. Be sure you are clear on what type of traffic school course you need to take. Once you have permission from the court, use the register now button to sign up for traffic school online or defensive driving in your state.

When will the court receive my certificate of completion?

Some courts require for you to personally bring-in the certificate of completion, in some cases the traffic school itself will mail or fax the certificate of completion to the court directly. Once you complete an online traffic school course, the certificate of completion will be processed. Depending on the shipping option you choose this could take anywhere from 5-7 days which is standard, to overnight delivery if that is what you need based on your due date.

What are the benefits of taking traffic school / defensive driving online?

There are many benefits to taking traffic school or defensive driving online. If you have a ticket, you will be able to dismiss your ticket, avoid having points added to your driving record, and ensure that your insurance rates do not increase. You will also learn valuable driving information such as tips on driving safely and refresh your knowledge on the rules of the road. If you have not received a ticket, you can have your insurance rates decrease as a result of taking traffic school online. For anyone who takes traffic school or defensive driving, they will learn invaluable information to stay safe on the road.

How much does traffic school online cost?

It depends on your state and the type of traffic school or defensive driving course you are required to take. It can be as a little as $9.50 in some states and up to $140 in some states or for more severe traffic infractions. However, whatever the cost, it will likely be cheaper than paying higher insurance premiums for years to come as a result of getting a ticket and having more points on your record.

What will I learn in a traffic class?

Each and every state has different content in their traffic school or defensive driving courses, however in almost all states you will learn information about traffic laws, traffic signs, safe driving techniques, and ways to avoid accidents and be a safe driver. You will also learn about the consequence of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

What if I need extra time to complete my traffic school?

You can reach out to the court and ask for an extension if you do not believe you will be able to complete the course by the due date assigned. However, one benefit of using an online traffic school course if that you can take it at any time and even request expedited shipping if you need your certificate in a hurry.

How do I sign up for traffic class?

It is very easy to sign up for online traffic school. Once you have permission from your court, just choose your state on our traffic school page, and hit register now. You will enter your court, ticket, and personal information and you are ready to begin.

How do I know if my court will let me take traffic school or defensive driving?

The easiest way to know if the court will allow you to take traffic school for your ticket is to contact the court and ask. However, in some states you can find information on your ticket that tells you whether or not traffic school online is a viable way to dismiss a ticket.

How long do I have to take traffic school / defensive driving?

This depends on the state and court from which you received your traffic ticket. In most states you will have anywhere between 30-60 days to complete your traffic school or defensive driving course. If you find yourself very close to the deadline for finishing your traffic school or defensive driving course, you are able to order expedited shipping so that your certificate of completion can arrive on time to the courthouse.

Is there expedited shipping if I need my certificate of completion quickly?

Yes. If you find yourself in need of fast shipping because the due date of your ticket is fast approaching, there are many shipping options ranging from standard shipping to overnight shipping to make sure your certificate of completion arrives on time.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates