Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Traffic School » Delaware (change state)

Delaware Defensive Driving

In Delaware, taking a state approved Defensive Driving course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Delaware Defensive Driving course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.

Delaware Defensive Driving Online Starting at $100

With over 1,000,000 satisfied students is the #1 provider of Defensive Driving courses online in Delaware. Delaware approved Defensive Driving online course.

Delaware Approved Defensive Driving Online
  • Court approved ticket dismissal
  • Pay only if you pass
  • 100% interactive online course
Traffic School in Delaware and Delaware's Traffic School Requirements

Defensive Driving in Delaware

Did you unfortunately get yourself a Delaware traffic citation? Finishing a state endorsed defensive driving program will help you avoid the bad outcomes of your citation. You are going to avoid getting points on your driver's record, having your car insurance rates rise, and paying for many years if you dismiss your violation with a defensive driving course. Also, utilizing the program will renew your knowledge of traffic laws.

You'll be able to dismiss your citation and be a much better driver when you use a Delaware defensive driving course. You will find out critical facts that can assist you to keep away from car accidents, traffic citations, and you will learn a lot about safe driving. The first task to registering for a simple and fast online Defensive driving training course is getting approval from your court.

The Steps to Take Delaware Defensive Driving

To avoid more costly car insurance and points against your record, follow these steps to take Delaware defensive driving. It's actually a shockingly simple process.

  1. Just before signing up for defensive driving, you must obtain the contact information for the court. Get approval from the court by phoning them to find out if you possibly can take defensive driving.
  2. After you've received court approval, search for a state accepted defensive driving training course. There are actually online and face-to-face options for defensive driving but many people decide on online for it's convenience. Then simply sign up for the defensive driving program.
  3. Take and complete the Delaware defensive driving training course. For most people the course takes around 8 hours, although the online version is self paced so you may finish more quickly. At the end of the course, there will be a final exam. You need a score of 80% to pass. With our online course you can take the exam as many times as you need.
  4. At the end of the course, you'll receive a certificate of completion for the court. Depending on the specific directions on your traffic ticket you can expect to either have to send this to the court or bring this to the court.

Delaware Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions

In order to keep track of traffic violations and potential problem drivers, Delaware uses a points system. Under this point system, drivers amass points for violations, the most serious of citations having the most points. Points on your driving record can increase your insurance rates and lead to license suspension. Find common infractions and their point values below.

  • Speeding 1 - 9 miles mph over posted limit: 2 points
  • Speeding 10 - 14 mph over posted limit: 4 points
  • Speeding 15 - 19 mph over posted limit: 5 points
  • Speeding 20 mph or more over posted limit: 5 points and/or license suspension
  • Passing a Stopped School Bus: 6 points
  • Reckless Driving: 6 points
  • Aggressive Driving: 6 points
  • Disregarding Stop Sign or Red Light: 3 points
  • Other Moving Violations: 2 points

If you're pulled over multiple times in a single year, your Delaware's license is usually suspended. The info underneath indicates the quantity of points against your Delaware driver record that can lead to suspension. You can prevent having your driver's license revoked by taking defensive driving in some instances. You may also be required by law to take a Delaware Aggressive Driver Program if you receive too many tickets.

  • 8 points: An advisory letter
  • 12 points: Driver must complete a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course with-in 90 days after notification. Failure to comply or upon preference of the driver, mandatory 2-month suspension will be imposed.
  • 14 points: Mandatory 4-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 16 points: Mandatory 6-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 18 points: Mandatory 8-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 20 points: Mandatory 10-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, he driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.
  • 22 points: Mandatory 12-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/ attitudinal-driving course within the previous 2 years.

Auto Insurance Discounts for Using Defensive driving

Numerous insurance agencies provide savings to drivers who take defensive driving, even when they do not possess a traffic citation. Should you need less costly automobile insurance, finishing a defensive driving course in Delaware is one solution to achieve this. Insurers want you to be a risk-free driver and therefore reward motorists who take a defensive driving course. The discount on insurance charges is often more than 20%. Check to make sure that your insurance carrier supplies a price cut just before signing up. When you are approved, register for a web-based Delaware defensive driving training course and when you are finished, deliver the certificate of completion to your insurance carrier.

Recommended Defensive Driving in Delaware

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I sign up for traffic class?

It is very easy to sign up for online traffic school. Once you have permission from your court, just choose your state on our traffic school page, and hit register now. You will enter your court, ticket, and personal information and you are ready to begin.

How do I know if my court will let me take traffic school or defensive driving?

The easiest way to know if the court will allow you to take traffic school for your ticket is to contact the court and ask. However, in some states you can find information on your ticket that tells you whether or not traffic school online is a viable way to dismiss a ticket.

How do I take traffic school for insurance reduction?

The first thing to do is to pick up the phone and call your auto insurance provider to make certain that they will allow you to take traffic school to receive a discount on your auto insurance. Once you know you can get a discount, just find your state on the insurance discount page and register for the insurance discount traffic school program in your state.

Why should I take traffic school or defensive driving?

There are many reasons that you may want to take traffic school online or defensive driving online. For anyone who recently received a speeding or traffic ticket, you can in most cases use traffic school online to dismiss your ticket and avoid points on your driving record and insurance premium increases. However, if you didn't just receive a ticket, you can still benefit from taking traffic school online. Most auto insurance companies will provide you with a discount of up to 10% if you take traffic school online, not to mention you will learn fun and helpful tips and information about driving.

How does traffic school or defensive driving help with ticket dismissal?

In many states, the court will allow you to take a traffic school or defensive driving course online or in person to dismiss a ticket. First, you need to reach out to the court listed on your ticket and make sure you can use traffic school / defensive driving for ticket dismissal. Be sure you are clear on what type of traffic school course you need to take. Once you have permission from the court, use the register now button to sign up for traffic school online or defensive driving in your state.

What if I need extra time to complete my traffic school?

You can reach out to the court and ask for an extension if you do not believe you will be able to complete the course by the due date assigned. However, one benefit of using an online traffic school course if that you can take it at any time and even request expedited shipping if you need your certificate in a hurry.

How much does traffic school online cost?

It depends on your state and the type of traffic school or defensive driving course you are required to take. It can be as a little as $9.50 in some states and up to $140 in some states or for more severe traffic infractions. However, whatever the cost, it will likely be cheaper than paying higher insurance premiums for years to come as a result of getting a ticket and having more points on your record.

When will the court receive my certificate of completion?

Some courts require for you to personally bring-in the certificate of completion, in some cases the traffic school itself will mail or fax the certificate of completion to the court directly. Once you complete an online traffic school course, the certificate of completion will be processed. Depending on the shipping option you choose this could take anywhere from 5-7 days which is standard, to overnight delivery if that is what you need based on your due date.

What will I learn in a traffic class?

Each and every state has different content in their traffic school or defensive driving courses, however in almost all states you will learn information about traffic laws, traffic signs, safe driving techniques, and ways to avoid accidents and be a safe driver. You will also learn about the consequence of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Are there different types of traffic school courses?

Depending on your state there may be different traffic school courses depending on the severity of your offense and/or your driving record and how many tickets you already have on your record. To be sure you know which traffic school course to take, make sure to check with the court. Also, in some states traffic school is known as defensive driving.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates