Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Traffic School » Idaho (change state)

Idaho Point Reduction

In Idaho, taking a state approved Point Reduction course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Idaho Point Reduction course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.

Idaho Point Reduction Online Starting at $32

With over 1,000,000 satisfied students is the #1 provider of Point Reduction courses online in Idaho. Idaho approved Point Reduction online course.

Idaho Approved Point Reduction Online
  • Court approved ticket dismissal
  • Pay only if you pass
  • 100% interactive online course
Traffic School in Idaho and Idaho's Traffic School Requirements

Point Reduction in Idaho

Have a traffic citation in Idaho? Many of the adverse outcomes of having a traffic citation may be prevented by using a state authorized Point Reduction course course. Taking an Idaho Point Reduction course will help you to remove three points from your driving record and therefore lower your insurance costs. At the same time, you're able to refresh your memory on safe driving tactics and traffic laws.

There are two primary advantages of taking a Idaho Point Reduction course training course- reducing the number of points on your record and learning about how to be a better driver. Finishing the Idaho Point Reduction course program can help you keep away from future violations, accidents, and methods for safer driving. To get started on the Point Reduction course training course check to make sure you are eligible and then you can use the web based course.

How Do You Sign up for Idaho Point Reduction course

Searching for and signing up for your state approved Idaho Point Reduction course is simple. When you adhere to these simple steps it is easy to keep your auto insurance rates down by getting 3 points removed from your record.

  1. To see if you could lower your driving record points with an Idaho Point Reduction course, make contact with the DMV. You can only take a course every 36 months.
  2. Now that you've got consent from the DMV or are sure you are eligible, look for a Idaho state authorized Point Reduction course course. You'll find online and face-to-face options for Point Reduction course however, many folks pick online for its efficiency. Now you just need to register.
  3. Take and conclude the Idaho Point Reduction course program. The course lasts 8 hours, however the online course we provide is self paced and untimed so you may finish more quickly. There will be a final exam that you must pass at the conclusion of the course with an 80% of better. Our online point reduction course allows you to take the test as many times as needed.
  4. After you finish the program, take your completion certificate to the court or DMV, according to the directions you are given in the course.

Idaho Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions

Idaho DMV's uses a point system, like most U.S. states, to keep track of drivers and how many citations they have. That means that each time you get a ticket, you will also add more points to your record and thus your auto insurance rates will increase. You may also be at risk to lose your license. Use the information below to deepen your understanding of the Idaho Points System.

  • Starting a parked vehicle (Code 49-603): 2 points
  • Limitation on backing (Code 49-604): 1 points
  • Drivers to exercise due care (Code 49-615): 3 points
  • Driving through safety zone prohibited (Code 49-616): 2 points
  • Operation of vehicles on approach of authorized emergency police vehicles(Code 49-625): 3 points
  • Drive on right side of roadway?exceptions (Code 49-630): 3 points
  • Passing vehicles proceeding in opposite directions (Code 49-631): 2 points
  • Overtaking a vehicle on the left (Code 49-632): 3 points
  • When passing on right is permitted (Code 49-633): 2 points
  • Limitations on overtaking on the left (Code 49-634): 3 points
  • Further limitations on driving on the left of the center of a highway (Code 49-635): 3 points
  • One-way highways (Code 49-636): 1 points
  • Driving on highways marked for traffic (Code 49-637): 1 points
  • Following too closely (Code 49-638): 3 points
  • Vehicle approaching or entering unmarked/uncontrolled intersection (Code 49-640): 3 points
  • Vehicle turning left (Code 49-641): 3 points
  • Vehicle entering highway (Code 49-642): 3 points
  • Required position and method of turning (Code 49-644): 3 points
  • Limitations on turning around (Code 49-645): 3 points
  • Obedience to a signal indicating the approach of a train (Code 49-648): 4 points
  • Compliance with stopping requirements at all railroad grades (Code 49-649) 4 points
  • Emerging from an alley, driveway, or building (Code 49-651): 3 points
  • Basic rule and maximum speed limits* (Code 49-654): 3 or 4 points
  • Minimum speed regulation (Code 49-655): 3 points
  • Special speed limitations* (Code 49-656): 3 or 4 points
  • Construction danger zone speed limits (Code 49-657): 3 points
  • Pedestrian's Right-of-way in a crosswalk (Code 49-702): 3 points
  • Obedience to and required traffic control devices (Code 49-801): 3 points
  • Traffic control signal legend (Code 49-802): 3 points
  • Flashing signals (Code 49-804): 3 points
  • Stop signs (Code 49-807(2)): 3 points
  • Failure to yield?signed intersection (Code 49-807(3)): 3 points
  • Turning movement and required signals (Code 49-808): 3 points
  • Duty to give information in accident involving damage to a vehicle (Code 49-1302): 4 points
  • Duty upon striking unattended vehicle (Code 49-1303): 4 points
  • Duty upon striking fixtures upon, or adjacent to, a highway (Code 49-1304): 4 points
  • Inattentive driving (Code 49-1401(3)): 3 points
  • Obedience to traffic direction (Code 49-1419): 2 points
  • Driving on divided highways (Code 49-1421(1)): 1 points
  • Restricted access (Code 49-1421(2)): 1 points
  • Overtaking and passing a school bus (Code 49-1422): 4 points
  • Racing on public highways (Code 49-1424): 4 points
  • Exhibition of speed (Code 49-1424): 4 points
  • Excessive acceleration (Code 49-1424): 4 points

Your Idaho license can be suspended any time you pile up a lot of points very quickly. Your Idaho driver's license is going to be suspended in accordance with the points listed below. In some instances, using a Point Reduction course will assist you to prevent this.

  • 12 to 17 points in 1 year: 30-day suspension
  • 18 to 23 points
  • in two years: 90 days suspension
  • 24 or more points in 3: 6 month suspension
  • Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  • Committing a felony using a motor vehicle.
  • Fleeing the scene an accident in which you caused property damage.
  • Making false oral or written statements (while under oath) to the Transportation Department.
  • Driving recklessly.
  • Being convicted outside of state lines for an offense that would otherwise cause this state to suspend your license had it occurred on Idaho soil.
  • Driving while your license is suspended.
  • Failing to pay for damages when the law finds you responsible in an accident.
  • Administrative suspension of your license: When you are tested for a DUI, you can have your license suspended if you fail a breath, blood, or urine test.
  • Refusing to take a DUI test that may provide evidence that you are intoxicated.
  • Not paying a fine when you have been convicted of an infraction. Less than a misdemeanor, an infraction can be as minor as a parking ticket.
  • Trying to escape or elude a peace officer.
  • Fleeing the scene of an accident that involves injury or death.
  • Using a driver's license or ID card illegally.
  • Lack of insurance for your motor vehicle.
  • Underage violation involving alcohol, such as possession, use, or procurement.
  • Violation of restriction.
  • Possessing marijuana or drug paraphernalia while under age.

Auto Insurance Discounts for Using Point Reduction course

Insurance carriers can provide discounts to people who take Point Reduction courses and do not have a traffic violation. For many who need a lower priced automobile insurance rate, finishing an Idaho Point Reduction course program may be the solution. Insurance firms will compensate you for finishing Point Reduction course because you will be a much better driver in the end of the program. On most occasions, the price reduction is up to around 20%. It's best to check with your insurance provider just before registering. It's then as simple as signing up for an online Point Reduction course program in Idaho.

Recommended Point Reduction in Idaho

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there different types of traffic school courses?

Depending on your state there may be different traffic school courses depending on the severity of your offense and/or your driving record and how many tickets you already have on your record. To be sure you know which traffic school course to take, make sure to check with the court. Also, in some states traffic school is known as defensive driving.

When will the court receive my certificate of completion?

Some courts require for you to personally bring-in the certificate of completion, in some cases the traffic school itself will mail or fax the certificate of completion to the court directly. Once you complete an online traffic school course, the certificate of completion will be processed. Depending on the shipping option you choose this could take anywhere from 5-7 days which is standard, to overnight delivery if that is what you need based on your due date.

How do I know if my court will let me take traffic school or defensive driving?

The easiest way to know if the court will allow you to take traffic school for your ticket is to contact the court and ask. However, in some states you can find information on your ticket that tells you whether or not traffic school online is a viable way to dismiss a ticket.

How much does traffic school online cost?

It depends on your state and the type of traffic school or defensive driving course you are required to take. It can be as a little as $9.50 in some states and up to $140 in some states or for more severe traffic infractions. However, whatever the cost, it will likely be cheaper than paying higher insurance premiums for years to come as a result of getting a ticket and having more points on your record.

Is there a test at the end of the traffic school course?

It depends on your state and course if there is a test required at the end of a traffic school course. If there is, there will be plenty of places throughout the course where you will be able to practice and if for some reason you do not pass the traffic school exam, you will be able to re-take it.

How do I sign up for traffic class?

It is very easy to sign up for online traffic school. Once you have permission from your court, just choose your state on our traffic school page, and hit register now. You will enter your court, ticket, and personal information and you are ready to begin.

How does traffic school or defensive driving help with ticket dismissal?

In many states, the court will allow you to take a traffic school or defensive driving course online or in person to dismiss a ticket. First, you need to reach out to the court listed on your ticket and make sure you can use traffic school / defensive driving for ticket dismissal. Be sure you are clear on what type of traffic school course you need to take. Once you have permission from the court, use the register now button to sign up for traffic school online or defensive driving in your state.

How do I take traffic school for insurance reduction?

The first thing to do is to pick up the phone and call your auto insurance provider to make certain that they will allow you to take traffic school to receive a discount on your auto insurance. Once you know you can get a discount, just find your state on the insurance discount page and register for the insurance discount traffic school program in your state.

Is there expedited shipping if I need my certificate of completion quickly?

Yes. If you find yourself in need of fast shipping because the due date of your ticket is fast approaching, there are many shipping options ranging from standard shipping to overnight shipping to make sure your certificate of completion arrives on time.

How long do I have to take traffic school / defensive driving?

This depends on the state and court from which you received your traffic ticket. In most states you will have anywhere between 30-60 days to complete your traffic school or defensive driving course. If you find yourself very close to the deadline for finishing your traffic school or defensive driving course, you are able to order expedited shipping so that your certificate of completion can arrive on time to the courthouse.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates