Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Traffic School » Kentucky (change state)

Kentucky Traffic School

In Kentucky, taking a state approved Traffic School course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Kentucky Traffic School course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.

Kentucky Traffic School Online Starting at $40

With over 1,000,000 satisfied students is the #1 provider of Traffic School courses online in Kentucky. Kentucky approved Traffic School online course.

Kentucky Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court approved ticket dismissal
  • Pay only if you pass
  • 100% interactive online course
Traffic School in Kentucky and Kentucky's Traffic School Requirements

Traffic School in Kentucky

Have a violation or want to learn to become a better driver? Take a Kentucky traffic school course to dismiss your violation or just find out about risk-free driving. On top of that, for folks interested in dismiss a traffic violation, keep from getting points on his or her driving report plus more highly-priced rates, taking a Kentucky traffic school course will make this happen.

To be able to register you just need to have authorization from the court and then you can enroll in a face-to-face or web based traffic school program. The training course is filled with helpful information about preventing accidents, potential traffic violations, and much more. Additionally, the internet training course is convenient, quick, and entertaining.

How You Can Sign up for Kentucky Traffic School

Follow the subsequent steps to learn to sign up for and complete Kentucky traffic school to dismiss your traffic violation and avoid pricey consequences. Taking Kentucky traffic school really is easy.

  1. Always contact the court prior to enrolling in traffic school to make certain you could take traffic school to dismiss your traffic violation. The phone number and name of the court is often on the back of the traffic ticket.
  2. Look for a traffic school training course, which is approved for the state of Kentucky. Due to their versatility, almost all people choose to take online traffic school training. Then simply just follow the directions to enroll for the training course.
  3. Always finish the training course ahead of your due date to make sure you can benefit from dismissing it and not incur higher fines and penalties. You can expect the course to last around 6 hours in length, although our internet course is self paced.
  4. You will be given a certificate of completion at the end of the course. You will need to either send this to the court or bring it according to the region.

Kentucky Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions

Keeping drivers safe is a number one priority for the Kentucky DMV and they use a points system to be able to monitor drivers and any traffic violations they receive. The Kansas point system assigns points to different moving violations and those points can accumulate on your driving record and impact insurance rates. They can also lead to your license being suspended in some cases.

  • Driving 10 mph or less over speed limit on limited-access highway (you will pay a fine if convicted): 0 points
  • Out-of-state conviction of driving 15 mph or more over the speed limit in a commercial motor vehicle: 0 points
  • Driving 16 to 25 mph over speed the limit on any road or highway: 6 points
  • Commission of hazardous moving violation involving an accident: 6 points
  • Combination of any two or more hazardous moving violations in any one continuous occurrence: 6 points
  • Failing to stop for a school or church bus: 6 points
  • Improper passing: 5 points
  • Driving recklessly: 4 points
  • Following too closely: 4 points
  • Driving on the wrong side of the road: 4 points
  • Changing drivers in a moving vehicle: 4 points
  • Not having control of the vehicle: 4 points
  • Failing to yield to an emergency vehicle: 4 points
  • Driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit on a limited-access highway: 3 points
  • Driving 15 mph or less over the speed limit on any non-limited access highway: 3 points
  • Driving 15 mph over speed limit in a commercial motor vehicle: 3 points
  • Stop violations (electric signal, railroad crossing, stop sign): 3 points
  • Failing to yield, including failing to yield right-of-way to a funeral procession: 3 points
  • Driving the wrong direction on a one-way street: 3 points
  • Driving too fast/slow for conditions: 3 points
  • Improper driving, starting, turning: 3 points
  • Failing to illuminate/dim headlights: 3 points
  • Driving carelessly: 3 points
  • Improper lane usage, including improper left lane/limited-access highway usage: 3 points
  • Failing to comply with instructional permit requirements/regulations: 3 points
  • Any other hazardous moving violations: 3 points

You can prevent license revocation through finishing a traffic school program in certain situations. Accruing a great number of points in a short time will cause license suspension, but if you take traffic school those points will not show up o your record. The information listed below describes Kentucky license suspension.

  • 12 points within two years
  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Three convictions of reckless driving in 12 months
  • Leaving the scene of an accident (including failing to give your identity and aid)
  • Driving without a license
  • Driving without liability insurance
  • Stealing a motor vehicle or any part of a motor vehicle
  • Failing to satisfy court requirements (citations, summons, etc.)
  • Failing to pay child support
  • Failing to enroll in or complete State Traffic School if ordered by the court
  • Illegally using your, or another's, driver license to purchase alcohol
  • Fleeing/evading police
  • Refusing a chemical test
  • Felony involving a motor vehicle
  • Manslaughter involving a motor vehicle

Auto Insurance Discounts for Completing Traffic School

Even without a traffic citation, it is possible to take traffic school to acquire a lower price on your auto insurance. Finishing a Kentucky traffic school training course could be the solution for getting cheaper car insurance rates. Insurers would like you to be a risk-free driver and as a consequence compensate drivers who take a traffic school program. Often times the auto insurance discount is 20%. Prior to registering, consult with your vehicle insurance organization to be sure they offer a deduction in price. Lastly, enroll in a Kentucky traffic school program and finish it.

Recommended Traffic School in Kentucky

Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need extra time to complete my traffic school?

You can reach out to the court and ask for an extension if you do not believe you will be able to complete the course by the due date assigned. However, one benefit of using an online traffic school course if that you can take it at any time and even request expedited shipping if you need your certificate in a hurry.

How do I take traffic school for insurance reduction?

The first thing to do is to pick up the phone and call your auto insurance provider to make certain that they will allow you to take traffic school to receive a discount on your auto insurance. Once you know you can get a discount, just find your state on the insurance discount page and register for the insurance discount traffic school program in your state.

What will I learn in a traffic class?

Each and every state has different content in their traffic school or defensive driving courses, however in almost all states you will learn information about traffic laws, traffic signs, safe driving techniques, and ways to avoid accidents and be a safe driver. You will also learn about the consequence of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

How do I know if my court will let me take traffic school or defensive driving?

The easiest way to know if the court will allow you to take traffic school for your ticket is to contact the court and ask. However, in some states you can find information on your ticket that tells you whether or not traffic school online is a viable way to dismiss a ticket.

How does traffic school or defensive driving help with ticket dismissal?

In many states, the court will allow you to take a traffic school or defensive driving course online or in person to dismiss a ticket. First, you need to reach out to the court listed on your ticket and make sure you can use traffic school / defensive driving for ticket dismissal. Be sure you are clear on what type of traffic school course you need to take. Once you have permission from the court, use the register now button to sign up for traffic school online or defensive driving in your state.

Is there expedited shipping if I need my certificate of completion quickly?

Yes. If you find yourself in need of fast shipping because the due date of your ticket is fast approaching, there are many shipping options ranging from standard shipping to overnight shipping to make sure your certificate of completion arrives on time.

Why should I take traffic school or defensive driving?

There are many reasons that you may want to take traffic school online or defensive driving online. For anyone who recently received a speeding or traffic ticket, you can in most cases use traffic school online to dismiss your ticket and avoid points on your driving record and insurance premium increases. However, if you didn't just receive a ticket, you can still benefit from taking traffic school online. Most auto insurance companies will provide you with a discount of up to 10% if you take traffic school online, not to mention you will learn fun and helpful tips and information about driving.

How much will my insurance company discount my insurance premiums for taking traffic school?

It depends on your auto insurance company so it is important to reach out and ask your provider. However, most insurance companies will discount your insurance anywhere from 5-15% for completing an online traffic school course.

How long do I have to take traffic school / defensive driving?

This depends on the state and court from which you received your traffic ticket. In most states you will have anywhere between 30-60 days to complete your traffic school or defensive driving course. If you find yourself very close to the deadline for finishing your traffic school or defensive driving course, you are able to order expedited shipping so that your certificate of completion can arrive on time to the courthouse.

Is there a test at the end of the traffic school course?

It depends on your state and course if there is a test required at the end of a traffic school course. If there is, there will be plenty of places throughout the course where you will be able to practice and if for some reason you do not pass the traffic school exam, you will be able to re-take it.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates