Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Traffic School » Maine (change state)

Maine Traffic School

In Maine, taking a state approved Traffic School course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Maine Traffic School course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.

Maine Traffic School Online Starting at $40

With over 1,000,000 satisfied students is the #1 provider of Traffic School courses online in Maine. Maine approved Traffic School online course.

Maine Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court approved ticket dismissal
  • Pay only if you pass
  • 100% interactive online course
Traffic School in Maine and Maine's Traffic School Requirements

Traffic School in Maine

Around 96% of individuals just pay their citation after they get a traffic citation. Finishing a Maine traffic school program rather than paying the traffic ticket, would guarantee their insurance rates didn't increase for many years to come since no points would be put onto their record. Choosing a state endorsed traffic school program will dismiss your traffic ticket and help you be a better driver.

Within your Maine traffic school training course, you will learn information about risk-free driving and dismiss your citation. Register for the Maine online traffic school course as soon as your court gives permission. During the program you'll find out how to prevent accidents, traffic violations, and a number of strategies to become an improved driver. Moreover, the Internet training course is convenient, speedy, and entertaining.

Enrolling in Maine Traffic School

In order to avoid highly-priced car insurance rates and points against your record, abide by these steps to dismiss your citation with Maine traffic school. It's actually a surprisingly straightforward process.

  1. Phone and ask authorization from the court to take traffic school with the court info on your violation.
  2. Now that you have consent with the court, find a Maine state accredited traffic school program. People normally go for online traffic school so they are able complete it from their house. As soon as you choose your course, register.
  3. Complete the program ahead of the deadline on the ticket. Although the online Maine traffic school is untimed, most people report it takes around 6 hours to complete. However, you can sign in and out as you please with the online course.
  4. To verify that you finished the training course, you will receive a completion certificate. You will need to bring the certificate of completion to the court.

Maine Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions

The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles, or BMV, uses a points system to record and track any violations you may incur. These include all traffic tickets and motor vehicle related offenses, the more serious the offense the more points you will receive. These points affect both your insurance premiums and your license status. Use the information below to better understand the Maine points system.

  • Crossover violation: 2 points
  • Displaying a blue light: 2 points
  • Displaying a red light: 2 points
  • Excessive noise: 2 points
  • Failure to dim headlights: 2 points
  • Failure to signal: 2 points
  • Failure to obey traffic island: 2 points
  • Failure to reduce speed for a grade or curve: 2 points
  • Following too closely: 2 points
  • Illegal left turn: 2 points
  • Illegal right turn: 2 points
  • Illegal U-turn: 2 points
  • Impeding the flow of traffic: 2 points
  • Improper turn: 2 points
  • Lane conviction: 2 points
  • Littering: 2 points
  • Obstructing the flow of traffic: 2 points
  • Obstructing traffic: 2 points
  • Operating a motor vehicle without tail lights: 2 points
  • Operating without lights: 2 points
  • Other moving violations: 2 points
  • Speed under posted minimum: 2 points
  • Squealing tires: 2 points
  • Trailer without lights: 2 points
  • Trucks traveling less than 150 feet apart: 2 points
  • Exceeding posted speed by less than 15 mph: 4 points
  • Excessive acceleration: 4 points
  • Failure to keep right: 4 points
  • Failure to return to right: 4 points
  • Failure to yield to emergency vehicle: 4 points
  • Failure to yield (no sign): 4 points
  • Failure to yield to pedestrian: 4 points
  • Failure to yield (sign): 4 points
  • Failure to give way to other vehicle: 4 points
  • Failure to obey stop sign: 4 points
  • Failure to stop at red light: 4 points
  • Failure to yield right of way: 4 points
  • Imprudent driving: 4 points
  • Operating with an obstructed view: 4 points
  • Operating without a license (traffic infraction) : 4 points
  • Red light operation: 4 points
  • Driving on wrong side of road: 6 points
  • Driving wrong way on one-way street: 6 points
  • Exceeding posted speed by at least 15 mph but less than 30 mph: 6 points
  • Illegal transportation, possession, or consumption of liquor in a motor vehicle by a minor: 6 points
  • Illegal transportation of drugs in a motor vehicle by a minor: 6 points
  • Improper passing: 6 points
  • Leaving the scene of an accident with property damage: 6 points
  • Operating beyond license restrictions: 6 points
  • Operating with improper license: 6 points
  • Operating without corrective lenses: 6 points
  • Operating left on curve: 6 points
  • Other improper passing: 6 points
  • Passing within 100 feet of intersection: 6 points
  • Passing on curve or hill: 6 points
  • Passing on right: 6 points
  • Passing on wrong side: 6 points
  • Using false ID to obtain liquor: 6 points
  • Violating Do Not Pass: 6 points
  • Violation of instruction permit: 6 points
  • Operating motorcycle beyond restriction: 6 points

Whenever you collect quite a few points quickly you are in danger of having your license suspended. You may prevent getting your driver's license revoked by taking traffic school in some cases. The subsequent info on Maine driver's license suspension will show how many points will cause suspension and well as other offenses that trigger Maine license suspension.

  • 12 points or more in a year: automatic suspension
  • Failure to file auto insurance
  • Failure to appear in court for a traffic ticket or violation
  • Driving under the influence (DUI, OUI, DWI)
  • Failure to stop for a police officer: 30 day suspension
  • Leaving the scene of an injury accident: 30 day suspension
  • Driving alone with a learner's permit: 30 day suspension
  • Driving without a license (criminal) : 30 day suspension
  • Passing a stopped school bus: 30 day suspension
  • Speeding 30 mph or more over the speed limit: 30 day suspension
  • Altering a license or registration certificate: 30 day suspension
  • Loaning a license: 30 day suspension
  • Unlawful use of license: 30 day suspension
  • Displaying a suspended license: 30 day suspension
  • Falsifying an application for registration or license: 30 day suspension
  • Giving false information to a police officer: 30 day suspension
  • Driving with a suspended license: 60 days suspension
  • Eluding a police officer: 90 days suspension
  • Passing a roadblock: 90 days suspension
  • Street racing: 90 days suspension

Car Insurance Discounts for Completing Traffic School

Searching for a lower priced automobile insurance premium? Insurance carriers might possibly decrease month-to-month auto insurance rates when you use Maine online traffic school. They are prepared to provide a lower price since you're deepening your understanding of safe driving and you will be less likely to find yourself in accidents. Always call your insurance firm first to guarantee they offer the discount. Then merely register and give your completion certificate to the insurance agency.

Recommended Traffic School in Maine

Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need extra time to complete my traffic school?

You can reach out to the court and ask for an extension if you do not believe you will be able to complete the course by the due date assigned. However, one benefit of using an online traffic school course if that you can take it at any time and even request expedited shipping if you need your certificate in a hurry.

How much does traffic school online cost?

It depends on your state and the type of traffic school or defensive driving course you are required to take. It can be as a little as $9.50 in some states and up to $140 in some states or for more severe traffic infractions. However, whatever the cost, it will likely be cheaper than paying higher insurance premiums for years to come as a result of getting a ticket and having more points on your record.

Is there a test at the end of the traffic school course?

It depends on your state and course if there is a test required at the end of a traffic school course. If there is, there will be plenty of places throughout the course where you will be able to practice and if for some reason you do not pass the traffic school exam, you will be able to re-take it.

How do I sign up for traffic class?

It is very easy to sign up for online traffic school. Once you have permission from your court, just choose your state on our traffic school page, and hit register now. You will enter your court, ticket, and personal information and you are ready to begin.

How do I know if my court will let me take traffic school or defensive driving?

The easiest way to know if the court will allow you to take traffic school for your ticket is to contact the court and ask. However, in some states you can find information on your ticket that tells you whether or not traffic school online is a viable way to dismiss a ticket.

How do I take traffic school for insurance reduction?

The first thing to do is to pick up the phone and call your auto insurance provider to make certain that they will allow you to take traffic school to receive a discount on your auto insurance. Once you know you can get a discount, just find your state on the insurance discount page and register for the insurance discount traffic school program in your state.

What will I learn in a traffic class?

Each and every state has different content in their traffic school or defensive driving courses, however in almost all states you will learn information about traffic laws, traffic signs, safe driving techniques, and ways to avoid accidents and be a safe driver. You will also learn about the consequence of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Why should I take traffic school or defensive driving?

There are many reasons that you may want to take traffic school online or defensive driving online. For anyone who recently received a speeding or traffic ticket, you can in most cases use traffic school online to dismiss your ticket and avoid points on your driving record and insurance premium increases. However, if you didn't just receive a ticket, you can still benefit from taking traffic school online. Most auto insurance companies will provide you with a discount of up to 10% if you take traffic school online, not to mention you will learn fun and helpful tips and information about driving.

How does traffic school or defensive driving help with ticket dismissal?

In many states, the court will allow you to take a traffic school or defensive driving course online or in person to dismiss a ticket. First, you need to reach out to the court listed on your ticket and make sure you can use traffic school / defensive driving for ticket dismissal. Be sure you are clear on what type of traffic school course you need to take. Once you have permission from the court, use the register now button to sign up for traffic school online or defensive driving in your state.

Are there different types of traffic school courses?

Depending on your state there may be different traffic school courses depending on the severity of your offense and/or your driving record and how many tickets you already have on your record. To be sure you know which traffic school course to take, make sure to check with the court. Also, in some states traffic school is known as defensive driving.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates