Michigan Traffic School
In Michigan, taking a state approved Traffic School course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Michigan Traffic School course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.
Traffic School in Michigan
Got a traffic ticket in Michigan? It is easy to avoid the negative consequences of your traffic citation by registering for a state accredited traffic school program. At the time you dismiss a violation by using traffic school, you prevent adding points on your driving report and having your auto insurance rates skyrocket. Moreover, you can actually brush up on safe driving skills and traffic laws.
You'll be able to enroll in the online traffic school course as soon as your court gives permission. The program is full of helpful information about avoiding accidents, future traffic tickets, and more. Not only is the online traffic school course stress-free, it is fast and exciting.
The Steps to Take Michigan Traffic School
The entire process of finding and signing up for a Michigan traffic school course on the web is very simple. You'll be able to steer clear of all of the unfavorable consequences of a Michigan traffic ticket by following these steps.
- Prior to signing up for traffic school, it is advisable to find the contact info for the court. Then get in touch with the court and find out if you are able to utilize traffic school for ticket dismissal.
- Pick a DMV permitted Michigan traffic school program. Because of the overall flexibility, the majority of people prefer to use online traffic school courses. Once you see a course that suits you, follow the instructions to enroll.
- After that just finish the program for the traffic school. It normally takes around 4-6 hours although the online course is untimed so you can finish at your own pace.
- At the conclusion of the Michigan traffic school course you'll be given a certificate of completion that must be brought to the court. Follow the specific court guidance thoroughly.
Michigan Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions
Similar to many states, Michigan uses a points system for driving violations in which points are added to your record for each an every driving citation or violation you incur. The worse the violation, the more points, and the more points the higher your auto insurance rates and more likely your license can be suspended. The information below outlines common point values for traffic tickets in Michigan.
- 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit: 2 points
- Open alcohol container in vehicle: 2 points
- All other moving violations of traffic laws: 2 points
- Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21: 2 points
- Careless driving: 3 points
- Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing: 3 points
- 11-15 mph over the legal speed limit: 3 points
- Failure to stop at railroad crossing: 3 points
- Failure to stop for a school bus, or disobeying a school crossing guard: 3 points
- Drag racing: 4 points
- Operating while visibly impaired: 4 points
- Under age 21 with any measurable blood alcohol content: 4 points
- 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit: 4 points
- Failure to yield or show due caution for emergency vehicles: 4 points
- Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle: 6 points
- Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs: 6 points
- Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash: 6 points
- Reckless driving: 6 points
- Unlawful blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more: 6 points
- Refusal to take a chemical test: 6 points
- Fleeing or eluding a police officer: 6 point
When you're stopped many times in a year, your Michigan's license could be revoked. Your Michigan driver's license might be suspended based on the points or violations listed below. You sometimes can avoid the loss of your driver's license through taking traffic school. In Michigan you will be called for a driver's license reexamination if your license is in jeopardy of being suspended.
- You have received traffic tickets while on probation
- You have a physical or mental condition that impairs driving
- You were in a fatal car accident
- You have 3 or more at fault accidents in a 2 year period
- You have 12 or more points in a 2 year period
- You violate the terms of your license
Automobile Insurance Discounts for Using Traffic School
Many people have no idea it is possible to use traffic school to get a price cut on your vehicle insurance. Those who want a lower priced auto insurance rate, completing a Michigan traffic school program is the solution. Considering the fact that insurance providers reap the benefits of you being a safer driver, they are going to compensate you for completing a traffic school course. Oftentimes the vehicle insurance price reduction is 20%. Before registering, talk with your auto insurance company to assure they offer a reduction. It is then as easy as signing up for an online traffic school training course in Michigan.
Recommended Traffic School in Michigan
Michigan approved Traffic School online course provided by . With more than 1 million satisfied students, is the #1 provider of Traffic School courses online in Michigan. Dismiss your ticket in Michigan today!
Take Traffic School Online. * Link opens in a new window.