New Jersey Defensive Driving
In New Jersey, taking a state approved Defensive Driving course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a New Jersey Defensive Driving course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.
Defensive Driving in New Jersey
Possess a traffic ticket in New Jersey? Passing a state accredited defensive driving training course will help you avoid the undesirable effects of a traffic ticket. Using defensive driving to dismiss your violation is the simplest way to prevent getting more points against your record and having your auto insurance rates increase. At the same time, you find out beneficial info on how to be a risk-free driver.
Within your New Jersey defensive driving program, you'll learn info about safe driving and dismiss your ticket. To sign up you just need to have approval from the court and sign up for an in person or web based defensive driving program. In the New Jersey defensive driving training course, you'll learn invaluable details about how to prevent accidents and traffic tickets. Furthermore, online defensive driving is convenient, speedy, and interesting.
The Actions to Take New Jersey Defensive driving
It is very simple to sign up for a New Jersey approved defensive driving. Your traffic ticket can be dismissed after you comply with these easy steps so you won't have to worry about your insurance rates growing.
- With the info found on your traffic citation, call up the court to inquire about if you're able to use defensive driving. If you have been ordered by the court to attend New Jersey defensive driving you should already have this information.
- Next you just need to enroll in a New Jersey defensive driving program that matches your preferences. Make sure it is approved by the state.
- Then, it is as easy as completing the training course prior to your deadline. The course is 6 hours long at the minimum and you will need to pass a final exam at the end.
- The New Jersey defensive driving training course sends you a completion certificate once you finish. You will need to deliver the certificate of completion to the court.
New Jersey Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions
New Jersey operate a points system in which different traffic violations carry different point values that show up on your driving record if you receive one. The more serious the ticket or violation, the more points are added. This points generally impact two things - insurance rates and potential license suspension. The information below outlines the New Jersey point system.
- Operating constructor vehicle in excess of 45 mph: 3 points
- Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway: 2 points
- More than one person on a motorized bicycle: 2 points
- Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk: 2 points
- Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk; passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk: 2 points
- Driving through safety zone: 2 points
- Racing on highway: 5 points
- Improper action or omission on grades and curves: 2 points
- Failure to observe direction of officer: 2 points
- Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk: 2 points
- Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway: 2 points
- Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal: 2 points
- Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk: 2 points
- Failure to obey direction of officer: 2 points
- Failure to observe traffic signals* (Red Light Camera- 0 pts.): 2 points
- Failure to keep right: 2 points
- Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider: 2 points
- Failure to keep right at intersection: 2 points
- Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction: 5 points
- Improper passing on right or off roadway: 4 points
- Wrong way on a one-way street: 2 points
- Improper passing in no passing zone: 4 points
- Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle: 2 points
- Failure to observe traffic lanes: 2 points
- Tailgating: 5 points
- Failure to yield at intersection: 2 points
- Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways: 2 points
- Failure to yield to emergency vehicles: 2 points
- Reckless driving: 5 points
- Careless driving: 2 points
- Destruction of agricultural or recreational property: 2 points
- Slow speed blocking traffic: 2 points
- Driving in an unsafe manner (points only for third or subsequent offense within five years of most recent conviction): 4 points
- Exceeding maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit: 2 points
- Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit: 4 points
- Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit: 5 points
- Failure to stop for traffic light: 2 points
- Improper turn at traffic light: 3 points
- Failure to stop at flashing red signal: 2 points
- Failure to stop for police whistle: 2 points
- Improper right or left turn: 3 points
- Improper turn from approved turning course: 3 points
- Improper U-turn: 3 points
- Failure to give proper signal: 2 points
- Improper backing or turning in street: 2 points
- Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing: 2 points
- Improper crossing of bridge: 2 points
- Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles: 2 points
- Improper passing of school bus: 5 points
- Improper passing of frozen dessert truck: 4 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident -no personal injury: 2 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident - Personal injury: 8 points
- Failure to observe stop or yield signs: 2 points
- Racing on highway: 5 points
- Moving violation committed out-of-state: 2 points
If you are pulled over too many times in a single year, your New Jersey's driver's license is usually suspended. The points listed below demonstrate what it will take to get your drivers license revoked in New Jersey. Lots of people can prevent having their driver's license suspended through taking defensive driving online. Taking a New Jersey defensive driving course will remove 2 points from your record. The info below outlines reasons for New Jersey license suspension.
- If you receive 12 or more points on your current driver record
- Failure to appear in court or to pay fines
- Failure to pay surcharges
- Driving with a suspended license
- Failure to provide proof of insurance
- Physical or mental disqualification
- Drug or alcohol use while driving
- Reckless driving
- Vehicle abandonment on a public highway
- Fault in a fatal accident
Auto Insurance Discounts for Finishing Defensive driving
Insurance companies will provide special discounts to folks who take defensive driving and do not have a traffic citation. If you want less expensive auto insurance, or want to remove two points from your record, completing a defensive driving training course in New Jersey is a approach to accomplish this. Insurance providers will reward you for doing defensive driving considering the fact that you'll certainly be an even better driver at the end of the training course. Reductions are generally more than 20%. Its best to check with your insurer previous to registering. Then just finish your New Jersey defensive driving course and submit your completion certificate.
Recommended Defensive Driving in New Jersey
New Jersey approved Defensive Driving online course provided by . With more than 1 million satisfied students, is the #1 provider of Defensive Driving courses online in New Jersey. Dismiss your ticket in New Jersey today!
Take Defensive Driving Online. * Link opens in a new window.