Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Traffic School » New Mexico (change state)

New Mexico Traffic School

In New Mexico, taking a state approved Traffic School course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a New Mexico Traffic School course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.

New Mexico Traffic School Online Starting at $40

With over 1,000,000 satisfied students is the #1 provider of Traffic School courses online in New Mexico. New Mexico approved Traffic School online course.

New Mexico Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court approved ticket dismissal
  • Pay only if you pass
  • 100% interactive online course
Traffic School in New Mexico and New Mexico's Traffic School Requirements

Traffic School in New Mexico

Did you unfortunately obtain a New Mexico traffic ticket? To be able to prevent the outcomes of a traffic ticket, register for a state accepted New Mexico traffic school program to dismiss your citation. Using traffic school to dismiss your ticket is the simplest way to prevent getting more points on your record and having your auto insurance rates rise. Also, you are able to brush up on safe driving strategies and traffic laws.

Using a New Mexico traffic school training course will allow you to dismiss a traffic citation and assist you to become a safer motorist. The course has important info that may assist you to be a less dangerous driver The internet course is easy and fun, and once you gain approval from the court you can sign up for the course and begin.

How to Take New Mexico Traffic School

To prevent higher priced automobile insurance and points on your driver's record, abide by these steps to complete New Mexico traffic school. Contrary to everyday opinion, it is quite straightforward.

  1. Initially you will have to phone the court from which you obtained your ticket and ask whether you can take traffic school to dismiss your violation. The telephone number and name of the court is usually on the back of the traffic citation.
  2. The moment you've court permission to do traffic school, enroll in a New Mexico traffic school course. Most people prefer online courses due to their flexibility and convenience.
  3. Ensure that you finish the training course ahead of your due date. If you finish after your due date, then it will not dismiss your ticket.
  4. Right after completing the program, bring in the completion certificate to the court. Some courts may permit you to send in your certificate, so follow the court instructions very carefully.

New Mexico Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions

New Mexico uses a point system where drivers who commit traffic violations get points on their driving record. These points trigger more expensive insurance premiums and sometimes license suspension. The information below shows the point values in the New Mexico point system.

  • Speeding 26 or more mph over the posted speed limit: 8 points
  • Passing school bus taking on or discharging passengers or displaying warning not to pass: 6 points
  • Reckless driving: 6 points
  • Contest racing on public traffic way: 6 points
  • Speeding 16 to 25 mph over the posted speed limit : 5 points
  • Failure to yield right of way to an authorized emergency vehicle: 4 points
  • Careless Driving: 3 points
  • Failure to obey traffic instructions stated on traffic sign or shown by traffic control device: 3 points
  • Failure to yield right of way in a manner required at unsigned intersection: 3 points
  • Vehicles turning left at intersection: 3 points
  • Failure to yield right of way at yield sign, after stop sign or when emerging from private traffic way: 3 points
  • Failure to yield right of way at yield sign, after stop sign or when emerging from private traffic way: 3 points
  • Failure to obey traffic instructions stated on traffic sign or shown by traffic control device: 3 points
  • Failure to obey traffic instructions stated on traffic sign or shown by traffic control device: 3 points
  • Certain vehicles must stop at railroad grade crossings: 3 points
  • Failure to yield right of way at yield sign, after stop sign or when emerging from private traffic way: 3 points
  • Following too closely: 3 points
  • Improper backing: 3 points
  • Making improper turn: 3 points
  • Making improper turn: 3 points
  • Failure to drive on right side of roadway when required: 3 points
  • Passing vehicles proceeding in opposite directions: 3 points
  • Improper overtaking or passing of a vehicle: 3 points
  • Improper overtaking or passing of a vehicle: 3 points
  • Passing with insufficient distance allowed for other vehicles or with inadequate visibility: 3 points
  • Driving to the left of center of roadway when prohibited: 3 points
  • Passing where prohibited by posted signs or pavement markings: 3 points
  • Speeding 6 to 15 mph over the posted speed limit: 3 points
  • Operating with any defective equipment resulting in inability to control vehicle movement properly: 2 points
  • Operating with defective brakes: 2 points
  • Operating with any defective equipment resulting in inability to control vehicle movement properly: 2 points
  • Failure to signal intention to change vehicle direction or to reduce speed suddenly: 2 points
  • Giving wrong signal: 2 points
  • Overloading vehicle with passengers or cargo: 2 points
  • Failure to restrain child passenger properly: 2 points
  • Failure to use seatbelt properly: 2 points

Finishing a New Mexico traffic school training course can protect against license suspension when you accrue too many points very quickly. The info below outline important information about New Mexico license suspension.

  • 12 or more points within a year: license suspension
  • Driving Under the Influence: license suspension
  • Driving with a Suspended License or Without a License: additional time on your suspension
  • Driving without Insurance: license suspension
  • Reckless driving: license suspension
  • At fault in a fatal accident: license suspension
  • Abandon your vehicle on a public highway: license suspension
  • Failure to pay traffic tickets: license suspension

Car Insurance Discounts for Finishing Traffic School

Is your auto insurance too expensive? You can get a price cut from the vehicle insurance company for using traffic school. Seeing that finishing traffic school could make you a greater driver, insurers are willing to offer a lower price tag. Before registering for a New Mexico online traffic school course, ask your insurance firm if they provide a traffic school price cut. Then merely sign up and give your completion certificate to your insurance organization.

Recommended Traffic School in New Mexico

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I sign up for traffic class?

It is very easy to sign up for online traffic school. Once you have permission from your court, just choose your state on our traffic school page, and hit register now. You will enter your court, ticket, and personal information and you are ready to begin.

Is there expedited shipping if I need my certificate of completion quickly?

Yes. If you find yourself in need of fast shipping because the due date of your ticket is fast approaching, there are many shipping options ranging from standard shipping to overnight shipping to make sure your certificate of completion arrives on time.

How long do I have to take traffic school / defensive driving?

This depends on the state and court from which you received your traffic ticket. In most states you will have anywhere between 30-60 days to complete your traffic school or defensive driving course. If you find yourself very close to the deadline for finishing your traffic school or defensive driving course, you are able to order expedited shipping so that your certificate of completion can arrive on time to the courthouse.

What if I need extra time to complete my traffic school?

You can reach out to the court and ask for an extension if you do not believe you will be able to complete the course by the due date assigned. However, one benefit of using an online traffic school course if that you can take it at any time and even request expedited shipping if you need your certificate in a hurry.

How do I take traffic school for insurance reduction?

The first thing to do is to pick up the phone and call your auto insurance provider to make certain that they will allow you to take traffic school to receive a discount on your auto insurance. Once you know you can get a discount, just find your state on the insurance discount page and register for the insurance discount traffic school program in your state.

How much does traffic school online cost?

It depends on your state and the type of traffic school or defensive driving course you are required to take. It can be as a little as $9.50 in some states and up to $140 in some states or for more severe traffic infractions. However, whatever the cost, it will likely be cheaper than paying higher insurance premiums for years to come as a result of getting a ticket and having more points on your record.

What will I learn in a traffic class?

Each and every state has different content in their traffic school or defensive driving courses, however in almost all states you will learn information about traffic laws, traffic signs, safe driving techniques, and ways to avoid accidents and be a safe driver. You will also learn about the consequence of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

How do I know if my court will let me take traffic school or defensive driving?

The easiest way to know if the court will allow you to take traffic school for your ticket is to contact the court and ask. However, in some states you can find information on your ticket that tells you whether or not traffic school online is a viable way to dismiss a ticket.

Why should I take traffic school or defensive driving?

There are many reasons that you may want to take traffic school online or defensive driving online. For anyone who recently received a speeding or traffic ticket, you can in most cases use traffic school online to dismiss your ticket and avoid points on your driving record and insurance premium increases. However, if you didn't just receive a ticket, you can still benefit from taking traffic school online. Most auto insurance companies will provide you with a discount of up to 10% if you take traffic school online, not to mention you will learn fun and helpful tips and information about driving.

What are the benefits of taking traffic school / defensive driving online?

There are many benefits to taking traffic school or defensive driving online. If you have a ticket, you will be able to dismiss your ticket, avoid having points added to your driving record, and ensure that your insurance rates do not increase. You will also learn valuable driving information such as tips on driving safely and refresh your knowledge on the rules of the road. If you have not received a ticket, you can have your insurance rates decrease as a result of taking traffic school online. For anyone who takes traffic school or defensive driving, they will learn invaluable information to stay safe on the road.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates