Rhode Island Traffic School
In Rhode Island, taking a state approved Traffic School course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Rhode Island Traffic School course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.
Traffic School in Rhode Island
Did you realize that over 96% of people merely pay their traffic ticket should they be given one? What people don't realize is that if they completed a Rhode Island traffic school course tickets won't be added to their driver's record and their auto insurance rates won't increase. Finishing a state approved traffic school program will dismiss your traffic citation and enable you to be a safer driver.
Not only will a Rhode Island traffic school course dismiss you violation, it can help you become a more reliable driver. First get approval from your court after which you can sign up for an online or in person traffic school course. Stopping traffic accidents and steering clear of future traffic infractions are only some of the things highlighted within the Rhode Island traffic school program. Not only is the online traffic school course convenient, it is fast and enjoyable.
Signing up for Rhode Island Traffic School
Locating a state accepted Rhode Island traffic school and signing up for it happens to be simple. If you adhere to these basic steps you'll dismiss your ticket and keep the auto insurance rates down.
- Utilizing your traffic citation, locate the name and contact info for your court. Call up the court to understand if traffic school can be an option for you.
- Next you simply need to sign up in a Rhode Island traffic school training course that meets your preferences.
- To dismiss your ticket, complete the traffic school course before your due date. The course normally lasts around 6 hours but may be completed more quickly if you opt for an online Rhode Island traffic school.
- By the end of the program, you'll receive a certificate of completion for your court. This certificate of completion needs to be sent to the court to finish dismissing your citation.
Rhode Island Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions
Contrary to what most states do Rhode Island does not use a point system. Instead they apply harsh fees to any traffic violation and tend to suspend and revoke driver's licenses more quickly. The information below outlines the fines for Rhode Island tickets.
- Driving with expired registration: $75.00
- Driving on expired license: $75.00
- Obedience to devices (i.e. red light, directional arrows, etc.): $75.00
- Eluding traffic light: $75.00
- Operator left of center: $75.00
- Overtaking on left: $75.00
- Overtaking on right: $75.00
- Clearance for overtaking: $75.00
- Places where overtaking prohibited: $75.00
- No passing zone Following too closely: $75.00
- Manner of turning at intersection: $75.00
- Turn signal required: $75.00
- Time of signaling turn: $75.00
- Obedience to stop signs: $75.00
- Right of way [to pedestrians] in crosswalks: $75.00
- Safety belt/Child restraint violation: $75.00
- Times when lights required: $75.00
- No inspection sticker: $75.00
- Speeding 1-10 miles per hour (mph) in excess of posted speed limit: $85.00
- Speeding 11 mph or more in excess of posted speed limit: $195 minimum plus $10 per mile over
- Cell phone usage (minors): $50
Taking traffic school is also a strategy to avoid losing your license. If you ever amass too many traffic citations against your driver's record in a short period of time, Rhode Island may revoke your driver's license. Learn more about Rhode Island license suspensions below.
- 3 or more offenses in a 3 year period: license suspension
- Driving under the influence 1st offense: 30-180 day license suspension
- Driving under the influence 2nd offense: 1-2 year license suspension
- Driving under the influence 3rd offense and subsequent: 2-3 years license suspension
- Chemical Test Refusal 1st offense: 180-365 day license suspension
- Chemical Test Refusal 2nd offense: 1-2 year license suspension
- Chemical Test Refusal 3rd offense and subsequent: 2-5 years license suspension
- Voluntary or involuntary vehicular manslaughter: license suspension
- Leaving the scene of an accident with injury: license suspension
- Attempting to evade a marked police car after being signaled to stop: license suspension
- Operating your vehicle on a designated bicycle path: license suspension
- Carrying a controlled substance in your vehicle: license suspension
- Convicted for altering license to buy alcohol: license revocation
- Vehicular manslaughter: license revocation
Auto Insurance Discounts for Using Traffic School
Even if you don't have a traffic citation, it is possible to use traffic school to secure a lower price on your car insurance. Should you need more affordable auto insurance, finishing a traffic school training course in Rhode Island is an option to do so. Insurance agencies will reward you for doing traffic school considering the fact that you'll certainly be an even better driver in the end of the program. On most occasions, the discount is about 20%. Always make sure to phone your vehicle insurance company first to guarantee they give a reduction in price. Then just sign up for traffic school course online and submit your certificate of completion.
Recommended Traffic School in Rhode Island
Rhode Island approved Traffic School online course provided by . With more than 1 million satisfied students, is the #1 provider of Traffic School courses online in Rhode Island. Dismiss your ticket in Rhode Island today!
Take Traffic School Online. * Link opens in a new window.