Tennessee Defensive Driving
In Tennessee, taking a state approved Defensive Driving course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Tennessee Defensive Driving course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.
Defensive Driving in Tennessee
Were you the recipient of a Tennessee traffic citation? Most of the negative effects of having a traffic citation will be averted by taking a state approved defensive driving program. You will avoid adding points to your driving record, having your car insurance rates rise, and paying for years into the future if you dismiss your ticket with defensive driving. An additional reward is that you also learn about to become a less risky driver.
On top of dismissing your citation, during your Tennessee defensive driving program you will learn info about risk-free driving. You can sign up for a face-to-face or internet defensive driving course once you get permission from the court. There are many tips and hints within the course about how to prevent traffic tickets, accidents, and more. Moreover, the online training course is convenient, speedy, and engaging.
The Simple Steps to Take Tennessee Defensive Driving
Registering for a Tennessee state accredited defensive driving is incredibly quick. Comply with these basic steps to dismiss your violation, avoid points on your driving history, and ensure your insurance premiums do not increase.
- Get your traffic violation and find the court info located on the back of the citation commonly. Phone the court to understand if defensive driving will be a choice for you.
- Then you'll want to choose a state accredited defensive driving. Considering that they might be taken from home, the majority of folks pick out online defensive driving training. Once you discover a course you like, follow the instructions to sign up.
- Take and conclude the Tennessee defensive driving course. The course lasts around 4 hours.
- You'll be given a completion certificate in the end of the course. The last step is delivering this certificate of completion to the court.
Tennessee Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions
Just like many other stares, Tennessee uses a point system to keep track of moving violations, traffic tickets, and other driving violations. Under the point system drivers who are found guilty of traffic citations will get points on their record. The more points your have the more your car insurance will cost every month and also some people may lose their license with too many points. Learn more about the Tennessee points system below.
- Tickets and Court Abstractions where speed not indicated on source documents: 3 points
- Speeding 1 through 5 mph in excess of speed zone: 1 points
- Speeding 6 through 15 mph in excess of speed zone: 3 points
- Speeding 16 through 25 mph in excess of speed zone: 4 points
- Speeding 26 through 35 mph in excess of speed zone: 5 points
- Speeding 36 through 45 mph in excess of speed zone: 6 points
- Speeding 46 mph and above in excess of speed zone: 8 points
- Reckless Driving: 6 points
- Signs and control devices - Failing to obey traffic instructions: 4 points
- Improper passing - passing where prohibited: 4 points
- Wrong way, side or direction: 4 points
- Following improperly: 3 points
- Failing to yield the right-of-way: 4 points
- Making improper turn: 4 points
- Violation of driver license or certificate restrictions: 6 points
- Reckless endangerment by vehicle, misdemeanor: 8 points
- Miscellaneous traffic violations failing to maintain control, improper control, etc., or any offense involving the operation of a motor vehicle not herein specified: 3 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident (property damage only): 5 points
- Failure to report an accident (property damage only): 4 points
- Failure to yield to emergency vehicles: 6 points
- Failure to stop at railroad crossing: 6 points
- Contributing to an accident involving property damage: 3 points
- Contributing to an accident resulting in bodily injury: 4 points
- Contributing to an accident resulting in another's death: 8 points
- Driving while license canceled: 8 points
- Fleeing Law Enforcement Officer (misdemeanor): 8 points
- Child Endangerment (misdemeanor): 8 points
- Speeding in a construction zone 1 through 5 mph in excess of posted speed: 2 points
- Speeding in a construction zone 6 through 15 mph in excess of posted speed: 4 points
- Speeding in a construction zone 16 through 25 mph in excess of posted speed: 5 points
- Speeding in a construction zone 26 through 35 mph in excess of posted speed: 6 points
- Speeding in a construction zone 36 mph and above in excess of posted speed: 8 points
Completing a Tennessee defensive driving training course can protect against driver's license suspension. Accruing a great number of points in a short time often bring about license suspension. Use the information below to learn more about reasons for Tennessee license suspension.
- 12 or more points in a 12 month period
- Failing to provide proof of financial responsibility in the event of a traffic accident or other violation
- Failing to pay for gas or Diesel
- Repeat traffic violation convictions
- Having mental or physical disabilities
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Using the license unlawfully, including alteration of license
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Failing to provide assistance/aid in the event of an accident
- Failing to provide correct information regarding the motor vehicle or license
- Committing a motor vehicle-related felony
- Fleeing an officer/avoiding arrest
- Drag racing
- Committing homicide or manslaughter involving a motor vehicle
- Negligent motor vehicle operation resulting in unsatisfied judgment
- Failing to pay child support
- Having or buying alcohol if between the ages of 18 and 20
- Two reckless driving convictions in 12 months
- Failing to notify the Department of Safety within 10 days of an address change
Auto Insurance Discounts for Using Defensive Driving
Want a cheap auto insurance monthly payment? A good number of insurance carriers give discounts to drivers if they complete defensive driving. Since insurance companies think they'll spend less in the long run if you know all about safe driving, they give discounts whenever you complete defensive driving Ensure that you always consult with your insurance agency before signing up to ensure they are willing to offer a policy price reduction. Go ahead and take defensive driving program and send in your certificate of completion to your insurance company.
Recommended Defensive Driving in Tennessee
Tennessee approved Defensive Driving online course provided by . With more than 1 million satisfied students, is the #1 provider of Defensive Driving courses online in Tennessee. Dismiss your ticket in Tennessee today!
Take Defensive Driving Online. * Link opens in a new window.