Texas Defensive Driving
In Texas, taking a state approved Defensive Driving course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a Texas Defensive Driving course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.
Defensive Driving in Texas
In case you recently received a ticket or want to understand more about Texas traffic laws and risk-free driving strategies, completing a state sanctioned Texas defensive driving course can help you. Texas defensive driving might be better for somebody with a traffic violation given that they can dismiss their violation and as a consequence avoid the bad penalties of a traffic violation.
There are two primary advantages of completing a Texas defensive driving course- dismissing your CA ticket and learning about how to be a less risky driver. You will discover crucial facts to help you to stay away from automotive accidents, traffic violations, and you'll learn a lot. The first task to enrolling in an easy and quick online defensive driving program is getting approval from the court.
Registering For Texas Defensive driving
Choosing a state approved Texas defensive driving and signing up for it happens to be basic. After you follow these steps you'll be able to dismiss your ticket and keep your car insurance rates affordable.
- Always contact the court ahead of signing up for defensive driving to assure you may take defensive driving to dismiss your traffic citation. This kind of critical information will probably be on the traffic ticket itself.
- Locate a defensive driving training course that is authorized in Texas. Due to the fact they may be used from home, the majority of folks pick out online defensive driving programs. Once you discover a program you like, follow the instructions to sign up.
- Next merely finish the training course for the defensive driving.
- The training course ends by providing you a completion certificate. Dependent upon your court, you will either have to take it to the court or mail it in.
Texas Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions
Like many other states, Texas uses a point system, however theirs is much simpler than many states as you will see below. In addition to the point system, Texas has implemented a Driver Responsibility Program which adds additional yearly fees should you get too many points or be convicted of certain violations. Learn more about the Texas point system and Texas Driver Responsibility below.
- One moving violation is two points.
- A moving violation resulting in an accident is three points.
- Texas Surcharge Driver Responsibility Program
- Total of 6 points or more on the driver record: $100 surcharge for the first 6 points and $25 points for each additional point
- 1st Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Offense: $1,000/ year for 3 years
- Subsequent DWI: $1,500/ year for 3 years
- DWI with blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 or more: $2,000/ year for 3 years
- No Insurance: $250/ year for 3 years
- Driving While License Invalid: $250/ year for 3 years
- No Driver License: $100/ year for 3 years
- Additional fees: Service fee of 4% of the original surcharge amount, Installment plan payment fee of $2.50 per partial payment, Credit/Debit Card fee of 2.25% of payment plus $0.25 (except where prohibited by law), Electronic Check fee of $2.00 per payment.
Taking defensive driving could also be a solution to prevent losing your license. In case you accrue a lot of points or traffic violations on your driver record in a short period of time, Texas may possibly revoke your license. It can also save you money in surcharges. Use the info listed below to learn about Texas license suspension.
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI) by use of alcohol or drugs
- Drug offense
- Intoxication manslaughter
- Intoxication assault
- Failure to stop and render aid
- Causing the death or serious injury of anyone while operating a motor vehicle
- Any offense punishable as a felony under the motor vehicle laws of Texas
- Overtaking and passing a school bus (subsequent conviction)
- Boating while intoxicated
- Evading arrest
- Driving while license invalid
- Altered/unlawful use of driver license
- Displaying or possessing a driver license or identification card that is fictitious or altered
- Ending a driver license or identification card to someone else
- Possessing more than one valid driver license or identification card
- Providing false information or documents when applying for a driver license
- Making, selling, or possessing a document deceptively similar to a driver license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety
- Fictitious license plate, registration certificate, or safety inspection sticker
- Fraudulent government records
- Racing a motor vehicle on public highway or street
- Driving while license suspended
- Causing a serious accident while operating a motor vehicle
- Becoming incompetent to drive
- Repeated violations of traffic laws: 4 or more convictions for moving violations occurring separately within any 12-month period or 7 or more within any 24-month period
- Habitual reckless or negligent driving
- Permit unlawful or fraudulent use of one's driver license
- Violating a driver license endorsement requirement
- Two or more convictions for violating a driver license restriction
- Failure to comply with the terms of a citation issued by another state that is a member of the Nonresident Violator Compact of 1977
- Failure to complete a DWI education program within 181 days if completion is a term of probation upon conviction of DWI
- Failure to complete a repeat offender alcohol education program as required when convicted of DWI
- Failure to complete a drug education program as required upon conviction of a drug offense
- Failure to provide medical information when requested
- Failure to take or pass an examination when requested
- Fleeing or attempting to flee from a police officer
- Has committed an offense in another state, which if committed in this state would be grounds for suspension or revocation
- Fail to stop for a school bus (second conviction)
- Violates a probation order set by a previous hearing
Automobile Insurance Discounts for Completing Defensive driving
Is your car insurance very costly? Insurance providers will lessen your regular auto insurance premium should you take defensive driving. Because insurance companies assume they should save money in the end if you know more to do with safe driving, they give rate reductions if you take defensive driving Always call your insurer first to make sure they have the price reduction. Then simply just sign up and mail your completion certificate to the insurance firm.
Recommended Defensive Driving in Texas
Texas approved Defensive Driving online course provided by . With more than 1 million satisfied students, is the #1 provider of Defensive Driving courses online in Texas. Dismiss your ticket in Texas today!
Take Defensive Driving Online. * Link opens in a new window.