Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Traffic School » West Virginia (change state)

West Virginia Traffic School

In West Virginia, taking a state approved Traffic School course will help you to learn traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Moreover, if you recently received a traffic ticket, taking a West Virginia Traffic School course, will help you with ticket dismissal, eliminating points on your driving record/history, and expensive rate hikes on your auto insurance plan.

West Virginia Traffic School Online Starting at $35

With over 1,000,000 satisfied students is the #1 provider of Traffic School courses online in West Virginia. West Virginia approved Traffic School online course.

West Virginia Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court approved ticket dismissal
  • Pay only if you pass
  • 100% interactive online course
Traffic School in West Virginia and West Virginia's Traffic School Requirements

Traffic School in West Virginia

Using a state accepted West Virginia traffic school course will refresh your memory on safe driving skills and traffic laws. For those who got a traffic violation, completing a West Virginia traffic school course is much more critical. The traffic school training course will dismiss your traffic citation to make sure you don't have points put onto your driver's record or costly insurance plan hikes.

Finishing a West Virginia traffic school course will help you dismiss a traffic ticket and make it easier to become a far better motorist. The training course has material that can help you to be a less dangerous driver The online West Virginia traffic school course is simple and interesting, and once you obtain approval from your court you may sign up for the course and begin.

How Would You Register For West Virginia Traffic School

Taking and finishing a West Virginia traffic school course is fairly painless. You simply need to follow a handful of steps and your citation can be dismissed and points will not be put into your driving record.

  1. Get a hold of the court from which you were given your traffic citation to see if you possibly can take traffic school to dismiss your traffic infraction or reduce points on your record. The info to contact the court will be on the ticket.
  2. Now that you have permission from the court, enroll in a West Virginia traffic school training course online that is approved by the state.
  3. Just complete the program ahead of the due date on your ticket. If you take an online traffic school course you can sign in and out as you please and take the course at your own convenience.
  4. The course ends by giving you a certificate of completion. You need to deliver the completion certificate to the court.

West Virginia Traffic Violations, Points, and Driver License Suspensions

Keeping track of traffic violations is important to the state of West Virginia to ensure that unsafe drivers are not on the roads. To track drivers and habitual offenders, West Virginia uses a point system. In this point system, you will receive points on your driving record each time you receive a ticket. Learn more about the West Virginia point system below.

  • Fleeing a police officer: 8 points
  • Hit and Run/Leaving the Scene: 6 points
  • Speeding in a school zone: 6 points
  • Reckless driving: 6 points
  • Speeding 15 mph or more above posted limit: 5 points
  • All Lane violations: 3 points
  • Speeding 10 to 14 m.p.h. above posted limit: 3 points
  • Driving wrong way on a one-way street: 3 points
  • Driving too fast for conditions: 3 points
  • All varieties of failure to yield: 3 points
  • Failure to maintain control/use due care: 3 points
  • Failure to obey traffic light/sign or control device: 3 points
  • Failure to obey stop sign: 3 points
  • Failure to follow instruction of police officer: 3 points
  • Failure to observe safety zone: 3 points
  • Hazardous driving/careless driving: 3 points
  • Passing violations: 3 points
  • Littering: 3 points
  • Improper turn/backing/start/stop: 2 points
  • Impeding traffic: 2 points
  • Improper entering/exiting trafficway: 2 points
  • All varieties of improper lights: 2 points
  • Following too closely: 2 points
  • Improper signal/failure to signal: 2 points
  • More than three passengers in front seat: 2 points
  • Speeding 5 to 9 m.p.h. above posted limit: 2 points
  • All varieties of failure to possess/display a valid driver's license and/or the proper endorsements: 2 points
  • Certain offenses of driving while suspended: 2 points
  • Joyriding: 2 points

Completing a West Virginia traffic school course can stop driver's license suspension in some cases. Because the points do not show on your driving record should you complete traffic school, you won't have to fear losing your license from having a lot of traffic tickets.

  • 12-13 points: 30 Days license suspension
  • 14-15 points: 45 Days license suspension
  • 16-17 points: 60 Days license suspension
  • 18-19 points: 90 Days license suspension
  • 20+ points: License is suspended until accumulated points are reduced to 11 or less
  • Failing to notify the DMV of an accident
  • Operating while intoxicated
  • Giving false information to the DMV
  • Using someone else's driver's license
  • Letting another person use your driver's license
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Refusal of a breath test requested by a police officer

Auto Insurance Discounts for Finishing Traffic School

Insurance agencies will provide discount rates to folks who take traffic school and do not have a traffic citation. You can get cheaper automobile insurance monthly premiums through taking a West Virginia traffic school training course. If you finish a traffic school training course you'll be an improved driver and that's why your insurer will provide a price reduction. Discount rates are generally around 20%. It is smart to check with your insurance firm prior to enrolling. And finally, sign up for a West Virginia traffic school program, finish it, and mail the certificate of completion to your insurer.

Recommended Traffic School in West Virginia

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there expedited shipping if I need my certificate of completion quickly?

Yes. If you find yourself in need of fast shipping because the due date of your ticket is fast approaching, there are many shipping options ranging from standard shipping to overnight shipping to make sure your certificate of completion arrives on time.

What will I learn in a traffic class?

Each and every state has different content in their traffic school or defensive driving courses, however in almost all states you will learn information about traffic laws, traffic signs, safe driving techniques, and ways to avoid accidents and be a safe driver. You will also learn about the consequence of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

When will the court receive my certificate of completion?

Some courts require for you to personally bring-in the certificate of completion, in some cases the traffic school itself will mail or fax the certificate of completion to the court directly. Once you complete an online traffic school course, the certificate of completion will be processed. Depending on the shipping option you choose this could take anywhere from 5-7 days which is standard, to overnight delivery if that is what you need based on your due date.

What if I need extra time to complete my traffic school?

You can reach out to the court and ask for an extension if you do not believe you will be able to complete the course by the due date assigned. However, one benefit of using an online traffic school course if that you can take it at any time and even request expedited shipping if you need your certificate in a hurry.

Why should I take traffic school or defensive driving?

There are many reasons that you may want to take traffic school online or defensive driving online. For anyone who recently received a speeding or traffic ticket, you can in most cases use traffic school online to dismiss your ticket and avoid points on your driving record and insurance premium increases. However, if you didn't just receive a ticket, you can still benefit from taking traffic school online. Most auto insurance companies will provide you with a discount of up to 10% if you take traffic school online, not to mention you will learn fun and helpful tips and information about driving.

How much does traffic school online cost?

It depends on your state and the type of traffic school or defensive driving course you are required to take. It can be as a little as $9.50 in some states and up to $140 in some states or for more severe traffic infractions. However, whatever the cost, it will likely be cheaper than paying higher insurance premiums for years to come as a result of getting a ticket and having more points on your record.

How do I know if my court will let me take traffic school or defensive driving?

The easiest way to know if the court will allow you to take traffic school for your ticket is to contact the court and ask. However, in some states you can find information on your ticket that tells you whether or not traffic school online is a viable way to dismiss a ticket.

What are the benefits of taking traffic school / defensive driving online?

There are many benefits to taking traffic school or defensive driving online. If you have a ticket, you will be able to dismiss your ticket, avoid having points added to your driving record, and ensure that your insurance rates do not increase. You will also learn valuable driving information such as tips on driving safely and refresh your knowledge on the rules of the road. If you have not received a ticket, you can have your insurance rates decrease as a result of taking traffic school online. For anyone who takes traffic school or defensive driving, they will learn invaluable information to stay safe on the road.

How does traffic school or defensive driving help with ticket dismissal?

In many states, the court will allow you to take a traffic school or defensive driving course online or in person to dismiss a ticket. First, you need to reach out to the court listed on your ticket and make sure you can use traffic school / defensive driving for ticket dismissal. Be sure you are clear on what type of traffic school course you need to take. Once you have permission from the court, use the register now button to sign up for traffic school online or defensive driving in your state.

How do I take traffic school for insurance reduction?

The first thing to do is to pick up the phone and call your auto insurance provider to make certain that they will allow you to take traffic school to receive a discount on your auto insurance. Once you know you can get a discount, just find your state on the insurance discount page and register for the insurance discount traffic school program in your state.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates