Many states have started passing cell phone laws that make it illegal to talk or text while driving. These cell phone tickets can be quite expensive and in many states increase with each ticket you are given. Here are some examples of how much cell phone tickets can cost. This information varies from state to state and county to county and should only serve as an example.
California Cell Phone Ticket Costs
- First Ticket – $20 base fee with about $120 of administrative and court fees: $140
- Consequent Tickets – $50 base fee with $120 of administrative and court fees: $170
New York Cell Phone Ticket Costs
- Talking on Cell Phone Ticket – $100 plus mandatory surcharges and fees of up to $85: $185
- Texting While Driving Ticket – $150 plus mandatory surcharges and fees of up to $85: $235
New Hampshire Cell Phone Tickets
- Texting or Talking While Driving: At least $100, can increase by court and number of offenses
« Fighting a Cell Phone Ticket
Can I take traffic school more than once? »
Recommended Traffic School Course
State approved Traffic School online course provided by With more than 1 million satisfied students, is the #1 provider of Traffic School courses online. Dismiss your ticket today!
Take Traffic School Online. * Link opens in a new window.