Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE » Home » Drivers Ed » New York (change state)

New York Drivers Ed

Do you need to take Driver's Ed in New York? New York Driver's Education helps prepare new drivers to understand the rules of the road, traffic laws and signs, as well as what it takes to be a safe driver. Driver's Education in New York is the first step to getting your license and beginning to drive in New York.

New York Drivers Ed Course Online Starting at $24.99

New York approved driver's education courses. Ready to get your driver's license? is the number one provider of driver education in New York. Take the entire course online!

New York Approved Traffic School Online
  • Guaranteed lowest price
  • Get your learner's permit
  • Many formats offered
Traffic School in New York and New York's Traffic School Requirements

Drivers Ed in New York

Getting Your License in New York with Driver's Ed

When it comes time to get your license, whether you are a teen or new adult driver, it can be a very exciting and scary time. There is so much to learn about being a safe driver and how to navigate all the steps required by New York to get your learner's permit and driver's license. Let us help you navigate the system and learn everything you need to know to be a safe driver in New York with driver's education so you feel confident and ready to hit the road.

Most states require new drivers to take the following steps to get their license. To learn about specific requirements in New York, see recommended Driver Ed course providers below.

Step One:

New York Driver's Education

In most states, the first step for a teen driver or new driver to get their license is to take a driver education course. Depending on the state and its requirements, the driver education course may be taken online, at a public or private school, New York approved driving school, or sometimes may be taught by parents. All courses in all states must be approved by the DMV or overseeing body in New York to count. In most courses there will be basic requirements for the number of hours the course must last, what it must teach, and in most states you will be required to pass an exam at the end of the driver education course. This introductory course ensures you understand the rules of the road, traffic laws and signs, and know the techniques for safe driving so that you are ready to begin learning to drive with your learner's permit.

Step Two:

New York Learner's Permit

Once you have passed a driver's education course, the next step in most states is to obtain a learner's permit. Your learner's permit will allow you to operate a vehicle with a licensed driver, who in most states must be at least 25 years old. To get your learner's permit in most states, you will need to make an appointment with the DMV or vehicle agency in New York to complete and turn in your application for a learner's permit. Normally you will need a parent or guardian to sign your application if you are under 18 years old. On the day of the appointment, you will need to provide personal information to the DMV, usually including a birth certificate and your New York driver's education certificate of completion and pay a fee to get your learner's permit. Some states may require you to pass an additional written exam at this point on traffic laws and signals before you will be issued your learner's permit.

Step Three:

New York Driver's Training

In most states, once you have your learner's permit you will be required to take a driving training course with a New York certified instructor and complete a certain number of practice hours. In some states, your parent or guardian may serve as your driving instructor and you will not need to sign up with a certified driving training course.

Step Four:

Getting Your License in New York

After you have completed the New York required driving hours and/or course, you are now ready to go to the DMV for your driver's license test. In most states this will consist of road test where you go out with a DMV official to show them that you are able to drive safely. During these tests you will be required to perform normal operating duties including parking, turning, and driving on the road. In some states an additional written exam may be required. If you pass, you will be able to obtain your driver's license. In some states this will be a probationary or provisional license that has additional regulations until you reach a certain age or have your license for a certain amount of time.

Provisional License or Probationary License

In many states, your first driver's license will be a provisional or probationary driver's license which will have added regulations. In some states this is for all new drivers and in some only for drivers under the age of 18. Normally probationary and provisional driver's licenses will limit the hours you are allowed to drive and the number of passengers allowed in your vehicle.

See the recommended Driver's Ed online course providers below to learn more about your state requirements and to complete the course itself in a speedy manner.

New York Driver's Education Online Course

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a test at the end of Driver's Ed?

In almost all states there is a driver's education test at the end of the course to make sure you have learned everything you needed to. Normally you will have to receive a certain score on the exam to move forward and get your license. Sometimes the driver's education test is offered at the end of the course itself and sometimes it must be taken at the DMV when you go to get your license.

How do I sign up for Driver's Education?

The first step to sign up for Driver's Education is to determine whether or not you would like to take the course in a classroom or online. If you decide to take an in person course, you can find a local course online or in the phone book. If you decide you want to take an online driver's education course, you can use the Register now button on our website to sign up for a state approved online driver's education course.

When will I get my learner's permit?

Depending on the state you live in there are different laws regarding when you get your learner's permit. In some states you have to complete a Driver Education course before you can get your learner's permit, and in other state's you have to get your learner's permit at the DMV before you can sign up for Driver's Ed.

How long is a Driver's Ed course?

Most Driver's Education courses last between 30-50 hours depending on the state you live in. This requirement usually can be completed in a classroom or sometimes online. Online driver's education courses can be taken on your own schedule where as classroom courses will require you to attend at certain times each and every week.

How do I know if I can take Driver's Education online?

Currently you can take online driver's education in the following states: California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Minnesota, Nevada, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Virginia. However new states are deciding to allow online driver's education courses everyday so it is always smart to check with the DMV or vehicle overseeing agency in your state.

When can I start taking Driver's Education courses?

Each and every state has its own rules and regulations about when you can begin taking driver's education. In most states the age that you can begin taking driver's ed is between 15-17 year old. Depending on your state, you may have to get your learner's permit before you are able to enroll in Driver's Ed.

How much do Driver's Education programs cost?

The cost of driver's education varies greatly from state to state and even sometimes between schools. To find the lowest priced driver's education program, it is important to research in person and online options and compare costs. Remember to always take into account any costs associated with attending an in person Driver's Ed course when choosing it over an online option.

What will I learn in Driver's Education courses?

You will learn a variety of information about becoming a safe driver in your driver's education course. This will undoubtedly include information about traffic laws, traffic signs and signals, safe driving techniques, driving in hazardous conditions, and the effects and consequences of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In addition, you are likely to learn state specific rules about penalties for breaking traffic laws and information about traffic tickets in your state.

What is the residency requirement to take Driver's Education?

In most states, you must be a resident of the state to take driver's education and receive a driver's license.

Will there be restrictions on my license after I complete Driver's Education?

In most states your first license, especially if you are a teen driver, will carry restrictions. These driver's licenses are normally known as probationary driver licenses. The most common limitations are to the hours during which you can legally drive and the number of passengers you are allowed to have in your car.

Got a ticket? Dismiss your traffic citation and lower your insurance rates