Take Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses Online

A Guide to Traffic School, Defensive Driving, and Driver's Education.

YOU ARE HERE: » Home » Blog » Delaware Defensive Driving

Archive for March, 2012

Delaware Defensive Driving

Posted on: March 28th, 2012 by Traffic School

Delaware-Defensive-Driving

No one wants to get a speeding ticket or traffic ticket and have to deal with expensive fines and points on their Delaware driving record. Unfortunately, it happens to most of us at one time or another and many of us mistakenly think that paying the ticket and accepting the increases to our insurance premiums is the only option. Luckily there is another option out there that can save you time and money – Delaware Defensive Driving courses online.

To better understand the benefits of taking a Delaware Defensive Driving course, let’s look at an example for a typical Delaware driver who just got his first ticket. Let’s call him Dan. Dan also has a car insurance policy in Delaware that costs him $100/monthly. Dan’s ticket was for $250 and he found out when went to pay it online that there was an additional $50 in court fees for the ticket bringing the total to $300. Now let’s look at each of Dan’s option for taking care of the ticket and how much it will cost him in the long run.

Option 1: Take a Delaware Defensive Driving Course Online, Total Cost: $400

The first option people should consider is taking a Delaware Defensive Driving course online to avoid having points added to your driving record. In most cases you will still have to pay the cost of the ticket and court fees, in this case $300, plus another $100 for the Delaware Defensive Driving course. The course can be taken 100% online and you can take it from the comfort of your own home at your own time. In some cases the court will reduce or eliminate the fine if you tell them you will be taking defensive driving in Delaware.Sign up for Delaware defensive driving.

Option 2: Just Pay the Ticket, Total Cost: $1500

Your second option is just to pay the speeding ticket and not take Delaware Defensive Driving. If Dan decides to do that he will need to pay the $300 for the speeding ticket and he will also have points added to his Delaware driving record. Those points will cause his insurance premiums to go up. On average your first ticket increases your insurance premiums by 20%, meaning Dan’s monthly payment will go from $100 to $120. He will have to pay the more expensive premium for 5 years until the ticket is removed from his record. Paying $20 a month extra for the next five years will cost Dan an extra $1200 for getting just one speeding ticket. That combined with the ticket costs, is a total cost of $1500.

Option 3: Fight the Ticket in Court, Total Cost: $0 If He wins, $1500 If He Loses

Dan’s final option is to fight the speeding ticket in court. If he goes to court and wins, it will cost Dan nothing for his speeding ticket. However if he loses he will have to pay the ticket and the insurance rate increases.

As a fairly practical person, Dan decided in the end to take Delaware defensive driving and avoid the points on his driving record and very expensive insurance rate increases.

Connecticut Traffic School

Posted on: March 26th, 2012 by Traffic School

Connecticut Traffic School

No one wants to get a speeding ticket or traffic ticket, but unfortunately for most people it is something that happens at one time or another. When you get a ticket in Connecticut most people just think they need to pay it and move on. In fact over 75% of people just pay for their ticket and accept the fact that they will pay more expensive insurance premiums for years to come. But it doesn’t have to be that way. By taking a Connecticut traffic school course many of the expensive and harsh consequences of getting a ticket can be avoided. To make this more clear, let’ look at an example. Meet Marcy.

Marcy pays $100 monthly for her car insurance premium and had a clear driving record until last Tuesday when she got pulled over for speeding on her way to the gym. She was given a speeding ticket, which in Connecticut will add 1 point to her driving record. The speeding ticket she was given cost $250 plus an additional $100 in court and processing fees. Let’s look at Marcy’s options and the cost for each one.

Option 1: Take Connecticut Traffic School

One option that Marcy has is to take Connecticut traffic school online after getting her ticket. The course can be taken entirely online and costs about $35. Once Marcy finishes the online traffic school course the points will not be added to her driving record and her insurance premiums won’t increase. Unfortunately though she will still have to pay for the ticket and court fees.

The total cost for Marcy if she takes Connecticut traffic school is $385.

Option 2: Just Pay the Speeding Ticket

The second option Marcy is considering is just paying the ticket and not worrying about the points on her record. How much can 1 point really affect her car insurance costs? If Marcy chooses this option, she will need to pay the $350 plus any insurance increases for the next 5 years until the ticket is off her record. On average, car insurance rates increase by 20% for the first ticket. That means Marcy will need to pay an extra $20 monthly for the next 5 years, or 60 months. That is a total additional costs of $1200.

The total cost for Marcy if she takes just pays the ticket is $1550.

Option 3: Fight the Ticket in Court

Marcy’s final option is to fight the ticket in court. Fighting a ticket is a bit of a risk since there is no guarantee that Marcy will win. If she is successful and wins in court, her ticket will be completely erased and she will not need to pay the fine or face insurance premium increases. On the other hand, if she does not win, she will have the pay the fine and face the extra $1200 in insurance costs.

The total cost for Marcy if she fights the ticket is wither $0 or $1550.

In the end, Marcy decided that taking Connecticut traffic school was the safest and most cost effective choice for her. She finished the course quickly online and was able to get the point taken off her record. you can sign up for Connecticut traffic school below.

Colorado Traffic School

Posted on: March 21st, 2012 by Traffic School

online-traffic-schoolFor most of us at one time or another we see flashing blue lights in our rear view mirror, our stomachs drop, and a few minutes later we are holding a Colorado traffic ticket.  It happens to most people at some time or another, but too many people don’t fully understand all of their options for dealing with a traffic ticket and Colorado traffic school.  Knowing the options you have in front of you after getting a ticket, as well as the financial implication of each decision will help you make a wise decision about how to proceed.

To understand the options in front of you, let’s use an example.  Meet Jenny.  Jenny lives in Colorado and has a monthly auto insurance bill of $150 for her car.  Recently Jenny was pulled over for speeding and given a ticket for $250, plus another $150 in court costs.  She knows that means that points will also be added to her Colorado driving record.  Based on national averages, Jenny knows that her car insurance rate will increase by 20% for the first ticket she gets.  Also in Colorado the points and ticket will stay on her record for 5 years.

Option 1:  Pay the Colorado Ticket, Total Cost:  $2200

If Jenny just decides to pay her ticket without taking Colorado traffic school, her total cost for the ticket will be $2200.  How can one ticket cost $2200?  Let’s break it down.  First let’s take into account the ticket itself, which cost $250 plus $150 in court fees for a total of $400.  In addition Jenny’s car insurance rate is going to increase by 20% for her first ticket, which pushes her rate from $150 to $180, or an extra $30 monthly.  She will have to pay that extra $30 monthly for the next five years until the ticket disappears from her record.  Over the five years(60 months), Jenny will pay a total of $1800 more for her speeding ticket in insurance costs.  This brings the grand total to $2200.

Option 2:  Take Colorado Traffic School, Total Cost:  $430

Jenny’s second option is to take online Colorado traffic school, which normally takes most people between 4-6 hours.  The cost of the Colorado traffic school starts at $29.99. It can be taken entirely online and you can sign in and out as often as you like. In addition to paying for online traffic school in Colorado so the ticket doesn’t show up on her record, Jenny still has to pay the $400 in ticket fines. However, this is much less expensive than the $2200 she would spend paying for expensive insurance for the next five years. Sign up for Colorado traffic school

Option 3:  Fight the Ticket in Court, $0 or $2200

The third and riskiest option is to fight the ticket in court. If you fight your ticket in Colorado and win, then you will have no costs at all since the ticket is completely dismissed. However if you lose when you fight your Colorado ticketyou will have to pay the ticket and the car insurance costs. Remember to also take in account the time it would take time and likely a day off of work to fight your ticket in court. That cost should also be factored in.

California Traffic School

Posted on: March 19th, 2012 by Traffic School

For many California drivers at one time or another they unfortunately get a ticket and need to take California traffic school.  Taking California online traffic school has many benefits and can help you ensure that you do not waste thousands of dollars paying for a speeding or traffic ticket for years to come.  Yes thousands.  How can it be thousands of dollars for just one ticket you may be wondering, well let’s look at how just one ticket affects your insurance costs and how taking online California traffic school can fix all that and save you thousands.  Meet Edward.

Edward had a clean driving record until one day he was in a rush to meet his girlfriend and was pulled over for driving 9 mph over the speeding ticket.  He was given a $200 speeding ticket and the officer told him he could also take traffic school instead of getting points on his record.  In California, his speeding ticket was a 1 point offense.  He also currently has a $100 car insurance policy.  According to state law this ticket will stay on his record for 5 years.

Edward called the court and found out it would cost him $200 for the speeding ticket plus an extra $150 dollars in court fees.  He would have to pay this regardless of whether or not he took California traffic school.  Finding out he still had to pay for the ticket no matter even if he took traffic school, his first response was to just pay it.  That was until he found out how it would impact his insurance cost.

Edward’s insurance company raises rates 20% for having an additional point on your driving record.  For Edward that means an extra $20 monthly for his car insurance.  That may not seem too bad, but he will have to pay that $20 extra for the next 5 years until the ticket disappears off his record.  That means an $1200 in insurance costs for that one ticket.

His other option, take traffic school online for $20 and not have the speeding ticket appear on his record.  That saves him $1180!

Now let’s remember that if Edward doesn’t take California traffic school, the ticket will stay on his record for 5 years.  What will happen if he gets another ticket?  For Edward that would bring about another more expensive insurance premium.  On average, care insurance rates increase by 35% for your second offense.  For Edward, that would mean his $120 rate (after his first ticket) would increase to $162 for the next five years.  Or he could just take California traffic school for $20 instead and save all of that money.

Arkansas Traffic School

Posted on: March 16th, 2012 by Traffic School

No one wants to get a ticket, but unfortunately sometimes it just happens. We are late for work, in a rush, or don’t see a posted sign. Whatever the reason when you get a ticket in Arkansas taking traffic school is a great alternative to simply paying the fine. Moreover, it saves you substantial money since the ticket impacts your driving record and insurance rates for years to come.

Many people do not fully understand just how one little ticket can cost you thousands over the years and the true savings you get when you take Arkansas traffic school.  To help illustrate just how much money taking Arkansas traffic school saves you, let’s look at an example.  Meet Julie.

Julie is a nurse in Arkansas and unfortunately was pulled over for making an illegal left turn on her way to work.  She was in a rush and just completely forgot that she wasn’t allowed to turn on that street.  In Arkansas this is a three point offense, which means that 3 points will be added to her driving record for this ticket if she doesn’t take traffic school.  In addition, the ticket itself was for $150 and there are court fees of another $150.  As a nurse, Julie is very busy, so she wants to fully understand her options before deciding if it is worth it to take traffic school online.

For auto insurance, Julie has a full coverage policy on her car which costs $100 monthly.  According to national statistics her auto insurance premiums will increase by 20% for the first ticket, 35% for the second ticket, and 50% for the third ticket.  The points will stay on her record for five years

Option 1:  Pay the Ticket, Total Cost: $300 for ticket, $1200 in insurance rate increases = $1500

Julie’s initial instinct is just to pay the ticket because she doesn’t want to spend the time taking Arkansas traffic school.  She is worried about how long it will take and is already very busy.  After doing some research about her ticket and calling her insurance company to find out about rates, she learns that in addition to the fine, her $100 insurance premiums will increase to $120 monthly if she doesn’t take traffic school.  Since the ticket stays on her record for five years, that means that she will pay an extra $240 annually in insurance costs for the next five years.  That means an extra $1200!  After finding that out, Julie thinks twice about attending Arkansas traffic school.

Option 2:  Take Arkansas Traffic School, Total Cost:  $300 for ticket, $40 for traffic school = $450

After doing some research, Julie learns that she can take Arkansas traffic school online for $40 and it will ensure that no points are added to her driving record.  The course can be taken entirely online and she can sign in and out as she pleases.  This is great for Julie because with her buys schedule she doesn’t need to spend time driving to a school and spending hours in a classroom.  It also means she can devote a little time each day to taking Arkansas traffic school and be done before she knows it.  Not to mention that she will save over $1000!!

 

Arizona Defensive Driving and Arizona Traffic School

Posted on: March 14th, 2012 by Traffic School

Taking an Arizona defensive driving course online can be a very beneficial way to keep your driving record clean and avoid expensive increases to your car insurance rates, as well as dismiss your ticket.  According to the Arizona courts, you can only take Arizona defensive driving if:

  • Within the past 24 months (2 years) you have not attended defensive driving for a traffic ticket
  • Your traffic ticket/citation is on the eligible list of violations
  • Your citation must be on the list of eligible violations.
  • The defensive driving course can only be taken for ONE violation
  • You can not take defensive driving if you were involved in an accident that caused major injury or death
  • You can not take defensive driving if you have a commercial license, even if you weren’t driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the ticket
  • If you are not an Arizona resident, you must obtain permission from the court to take Arizona defensive driving at an approved online or out of state venue and complete the course 7 days prior to your court date

In addition to meeting the requirements set out by the state of Arizona for taking a defensive driving course, when signing up for the course, you will need to pay the fee for the course in addition to a court diversion fee, Arizona Supreme Court Fee, Arizona State Surcharge Fee, and Identity Verification Fee.  This fees are all set by the state government and although they may seem like a lot, they are still much cheaper than the insurance impact of a traffic ticket. These fines can range quite a bit between counties but on average add about $200 to the cost of defensive driving. The defensive driving course along is usually about $22.

Alaska Defensive Driving and Alaska Traffic School

Posted on: March 12th, 2012 by Traffic School

In the state of Alaska, traffic school is more commonly called defensive driving and can be a great option to avoid expensive insurance rate hikes and points on your record if you are pulled over and get a ticket.  By completing a state approved Alaska defensive driving course the points no longer show up on your record and you avoid many of the negative consequences of getting a ticket.  To better understand the benefits of taking Alaska defensive driving, let’s look at an example.  We will call our driver David.

Alaska defensive drivingDavid was running late for work and speeding on a local Alaska highway.  Unfortunately, as happens all too often, David quickly saw a police car in his rear view mirror and was pulled over for speeding.  He was given a speeding ticket for driving 9 miles over the speed limit which is a 2 point offense in Alaska.  In addition to the 4 points on his driving record, the ticket itself carries a fine of $200.

When David gets home from work that day, he reads the speeding ticket to find out more about what he can do.  The ticket lays out three options.  First he can simply pay the ticket and mail in the fine plus any additional court fees.  He finds out these usually cost about $100.  Second, he can fight the ticket in court and try to have it completely dismissed.  Third, he can take an Alaska defensive driving course and have 2 points removed from his record for completing the course and passing the final exam.

Being a financially responsible guy, David decides he is going to weigh his three options based on how much they cost and how they will affect him in the long run.  Here is what David learns:

Option 1:  Pay the Ticket, Total Cost: $1500

Looking at the easiest option to just pay the ticket, David knows that the ticket itself costs $200 and there is another $100 in court fees, so that’s $300 total.  In addition, David found out that his insurance company will increase his rates by 20% for the additional 2 points on his driving record.  The points will be on his record for 5 years.  Since David’s auto insurance policy costs $100 a month, that means if he just pays the ticket, his premiums will increase to $120 a month for the next five years.  So that’s an extra $20 monthly for 60 months, or 5 years, which totals an additional cost of $1200 if he just pays the ticket.  That means the total cost for the ticket is $1500.

Option 2:  Fight the Ticket in Court, Total Cost: Nothing or $1500

David’s second option is to fight the ticket in court.  He has heard that many people win when they fight their tickets but he knows just as many people who have lost.  If he fights his ticket and wins, it will cost him absolutely nothing.  But if he doesn’t win, it will cost him $1500 and there will no longer be an option for defensive driving.  David is pretty risk averse, so this isn’t really an option for him.

Option 3:  Take Alaska Defensive Driving, Total Cost:  $324.95

If David takes an Alaska defensive driving course, David will still need to pay the $300 fine but can have the two points removed from his record thus avoiding any insurance premium increases.  The course costs $24.95 so the total cost if David takes Alaska defensive driving is $324.95, the cheapest option by far.  David decides that this is the best option for him.

Alabama Traffic School and Alabama Defensive Driving

Posted on: March 9th, 2012 by Traffic School

In Alabama traffic school is most commonly called defensive driving and is handled by the individual counties in Alabama.  That means that rather than having a central agency that creates the laws and regulations for traffic school, traffic tickets, and speeding tickets in the state, each individual county clerk and county court are responsible determining who can take Alabama traffic school and who can not.

However even though the individual counties control Alabama traffic school and Alabama defensive driving, that does not mean that there are not state wide driving laws and points.  In fact, Alabama adds points to your driving record for all speeding and traffic tickets.  Below you can find the common points associated with Alabama traffic tickets:

  • Speeding in Excess of Posted Limits: 2 points
  • Speeding In Excess of 85 MPH (86 or above): 5 points
  • Disregarding Traffic Control Device (stop sign, traffic light): 3 points
  • Following Too Closely: 3 points
  • Illegal Passing: 3 points
  • Wrong Side of Road: 4 points
  • Failure to Yield Right of Way: 5 points
  • Passing Stopped School Bus: 5 points
  • Reckless Driving: 6 points
  • Any charge involving driving under the influence without mandatory license suspension: 6 points

In some cases you can have tickets and points removed from your record for completing an online or in person traffic school or defensive driving course.  The easiest way to find out if you can take Alabama traffic school is to contact the court listed on your ticket.  When you call ask to speak to the traffic violation dept or traffic court, and nicely ask whether or not you can take Alabama defensive driving.  Sometimes it will be granted right away and in some counties you may need to appear in front of a judge to request traffic school.  Always check your ticket as well because sometimes it is listed on the ticket itself.

The cost of Alabama traffic school will vary between counties and could be as low as $20 or as high as $300 for Alabama defensive driving.  On average, Alabama traffic school costs around $130.  In the long run this is much cheaper than auto insurance rate increases.  On average, car insurance rates increase by 20% for the first ticket, 35% for the second ticket, and 50% for the third ticket.  since points stay on your record for 5 years without taking traffic school in Alabama, that means you will pay those increase for 5 YEARS.

Let’s imagine you pay $100 monthly for auto insurance and then you get your first ticket.  You will pay an extra $20 per month for 5 years, or 60 months.  That’s an extra $1200!!

What if you have 2 tickets?  You $120 monthly auto insurance rates, from your first ticket, would increase to $162 on average in Alabama.  That is an extra $62 monthly from having no points on your record for 5 years, or 60 months.  That’s an extra $3,720 over the course of 5 years,  Would you rather just pay for Alabama traffic school?

Therefore even if traffic school costs $200, which seems like a lot, it is worth it in the long run and will save you lots of money.  Taking Alabama traffic school and Alabama defensive driving is a wise and financially smart decision for anyone who has an Alabama traffic ticket. 

Can I take traffic school more than once? I got another speeding ticket…

Posted on: March 7th, 2012 by Traffic School

how-often-can-i-take-traffic-schoolUnfortunately many people find themselves in situations where they may need to take a traffic school course more than once since they got another ticket.  One of the emails we get most frequently asks this exact question, can I take traffic more than once?  There isn’t an easy answer to this since every state has it’s own specific laws about how often you can take traffic school.

In most states it will depend on both the length of time that has passed since you last took traffic school and also the severity of the traffic violation you just got.  In some states you can only traffic school online once every 18 months, like California, but there are longer, in-person options available if you get another ticket.  In some states the length of time the course lasts changes for each ticket you get.  For example, you may have to take a 4 hour course for the first ticket and then if you get another ticket within the year, you have to take an 8 hour course.  It is important to note that in many states you can ask the judge for permission to take traffic school again and in many cases it will be granted.

Here are some examples of how often you can take traffic school.

  • Alabama:  Determined by individual counties how often traffic school can be taken
  • Alaska:  You can take the course as often as you wish for a traffic ticket.  If you are taking a 2 point course, it can be taken once every 12 months.
  • Arizona:  Defensive driving can be taken once every 2 years
  • California:  Once every 18 months, more often with court permission
  • Delaware:  You can take the course as often as you wish for a traffic ticket.  If you are taking the course for point credits, it can be taken once every 12 months.
  • Idaho:  You can take the course as often as you wish for a fine reduction.  If you are taking the course for point reduction, it can be taken once every 3 months.
  • Missouri:  As often as you like you can take traffic school course
  • Nevada:  You can take the course once a year for point reduction.  You can take the course as often as you wish for a traffic ticket.
  • Virginia:  You can take the course once every 2 years for point reduction.  You can take the course as often as you wish for a traffic ticket.

Anyone who has a traffic ticket should always consider taking traffic school online to avoid the expenses costs of getting a ticket.  Even if you believe that you may not be eligible for traffic school, it is beneficial to ask the court because in many instances they will allow you to take a course if you ask.   Taking this course can prevent you from having your insurance rates skyrocket or even losing your license if you have many violations.  Always be sure to look for traffic school online as your first option since it is easier and more convenient.  In some cases the DMV or RMV will only let you take traffic school in person for more serious offenses.

 

 

Online Traffic School

Posted on: March 5th, 2012 by Traffic School

online-traffic-schoolAfter getting a traffic ticket, many people find themselves facing the question of whether or not it is worth it to take a traffic school course.  On one hand taking an online traffic school course will help you avoid costly points on your driving record and increases to your monthly auto insurance premiums, but on the other hand, it takes time to take an online traffic school course.

To help you determine whether or not it is worth it to take online traffic school for your traffic ticket, let’s look at the financial costs of not doing so.  We will imagine it is your first ticket and you live in a state where a ticket stays on your record for five years.

Five Year Cost of a Traffic Ticket Without Traffic School:  $1515

You are pulled over for speeding on the highway and are given a speeding ticket for $200.  You decide you are just going to pay the speeding ticket and when you go to the court to pay it, you find out there are an additional $115 for processing, administration, and court fees, which is typical in just about every state.  So at this point, you have spent $315 total on the speeding ticket.  Additionally when you get the speeding ticket, your auto insurance company finds out the points have increased on your driving record.  Since it is your first ticket, they increase your insurance rates by 20%, which is the national average.  Let’s imagine you were paying $100 for car insurance, so now you are paying $20 extra every month.  You will pay this increased premium for five years since the ticket stays on your record for five years.  That means an additional $1200.

So how much did the traffic ticket really cost you?  It will cost you a total of $1515 if you simply pay the traffic ticket.

Five Year Cost of a Traffic Ticket With Online Traffic School:  $355 and 4-8 hours of time

Now let’s imagine that when you get the speeding ticket and instead of just paying it, you decide you are going to take online traffic school.  Unfortunately in your state you still have to pay for the speeding ticket and court fees which total $315.  (In some states fines are reduced if you take online traffic school)  In addition to that, you sign up for online traffic school and it costs $40. Since you took the online traffic school course you did not have any points added to your record and your car insurance rates stayed the same.

So how much did the traffic ticket cost you with online traffic school?  It cost a total of $355 plus 4-8 hours of time depending on how long the course takes you to finish.  Even if it took you 8 hours to finish the course, you would need to about $150/hour to justify that cost.

Moreover, since you can take online traffic school at your own convenience and sign in and out as you please, you can literally sit on your couch and finish it.  Saving that much money, over $1100, for taking a simple online traffic school course is a no brainer.  Sign up for online traffic school.